[Recipe] Mrs. Janet’s Banana Pudding

Mrs. Janet's Banana Pudding

Mrs. Janet’s Banana Pudding

My college years were life-changing. No, seriously, they were. While attending Louisiana Tech, I met and made life-long friends. As well, I was ‘adopted’ by a family from the church I attended while in college. Twenty-plus years later, my college family, The Moore’s, and I still keep in touch. And they hold a significant place in mine and my family’s hearts! They’ve been a part of my life’s journey for so long, I can’t remember them not being a part of it.

A year or so before my husband and I got married, my college family moved from North Louisiana to Florida. Ironically, their home was located in the same town as the graduate school my husband was attending. Over the last ten years, he has been able to stay with them while in town for his on-site classes. It’s been so nice for him to be able to connect with and get to know these special people.

This summer, Jon will graduate with his doctorate degree, so we are flying to Florida to celebrate the occasion and to visit my college family. We are all looking forward to this because it’s been a long time since we have all been together. In fact, the last time we were all under the same roof, my son was two-years-old and my daughter was only three-months-old. Time has flown by far too quickly. But this summer, memories will be made! And we can’t wait!

If you’ve read my blog for even a little while, you know I’m a believer in the sacredness of shared meals. And this family and I shared numerous meals, made many memories and had some significant and sacred conversations while sitting around the dinner table.  This week,  I was reminiscing about Thursday nights with my kids. What’s so special about Thursday nights? Well, every Thursday night while I was in college, I’d head over to my college family’s home to have family dinner and watch Must See TV on NBC. Oh, and wash clothes. I always needed to wash clothes! 🙂

In their home, I experienced love, acceptance and grace. Much more was shared than merely a washing machine or food. They shared their very lives with me and many, many amazing meals and recipes that I still cook and enjoy today! One of my favorites is Mrs. Janet’s Banana Pudding. I made it the other evening, and my kids devoured it. My son even declared it his favorite dessert ever! I hope you try it and enjoy it as much as we do!
Mrs. Janet’s Banana Pudding 

  • 1 box of vanilla wafers
  • 5-6 bananas, sliced
  • 1 large box of vanilla or banana instant pudding
  • 16 oz. of freshly whipped cream (or 1 container of Cool Whip)

Directions:
1. In a bowl, mix pudding as shown on box.
2. Gently fold in whipped cream (or Cool Whip) into pudding.
3. Pour a little of the pudding mixture into the bottom of a trifle bowl.
4. Layer vanilla wafers, bananas, and pudding. Making sure to end with pudding.
5. Top with crushed vanilla wafers.
6. Refrigerate until ready to enjoy!

Leave a Reply

