39 Things I’ve Learned in 39 Years

39

Tomorrow, I turn 39. The older I get, the more I discover I have to learn. Even still, I thought I’d share a few things I have learned over the last 39 years. 

39. I’d rather give (and receive) a whole-hearted “No,” instead of a half-hearted “Yes”. Say what you mean, and mean what you say.

38. Both quality AND quantity time are needed to nurture
a healthy  relationship.

37. Sometimes, no matter how clearly we speak, some people will never really hear or understand us. And that’s okay.

36. Eat chocolate, but make sure it’s the good stuff.
Don’t waste calories on crap.

35. My marriage & family are my highest priorities.
I’d rather cheat the church (or wherever I’m working) before these significant relationships.
(Thanks, Pastor Andy Stanley for sharing this message. Click on the link to listen.)

34. There is beauty in the broken places of our lives.

33. Parenting has shown me areas in my life that need adjusting, molding, and transforming. And I’m sure there’s much more to come!

32. Self-care is not selfish.

31. Although we may disagree with others on significant matters,
we can still show them respect and be friends.

30.  Lead with grace and by example.
As a leader, take responsibility for  the team’s failures,
but give credit to others for the team’s successes.

29. Instead of trying to give folks good advice, learn to ask them better questions. Then, listen intently to their answers.

28. Determine what your non-negotiables are in life;
then, don’t apologize for them.

27. In the same way, know your priorities and honor them.

26. Never promise more than you can deliver.
In fact, always deliver more than you promised.

25. Invest in your marriage.
Make date nights a priority.
Keep the lines of communication open. 

24.  Don’t let other’s expectations define or confine you.
The older I get, the more comfortable I am just being me and living outside-of-the-box.

23. Everyone is creative. Find a creative space.
Mine is my kitchen, and I create food. 

22. Friendships really do come around for a season, a reason or a lifetime, and I’ve been blessed by all.

21. Surround yourself with people who believe in you.
Don’t let toxic people infect your life.
Sometimes, it’s best to walk away. 

20. Good coffee is a necessary part of my day.
Yes, I’m a coffee snob.

19. When my husband says, “I really like you & enjoy spending time with you,” it means more to me than when he says, “I love you.”

18. Gathering around a table with others  is a sacred experience.
More than a meal, it’s a time to share our lives and our stories.

17. Take every opportunity to embarrass your kids.
You know, give them hugs in public or make out with your spouse!

16. Be wise with whom you share your heart.
Be authentic with  all, but transparent with a few. 

15. Laugh often, especially at yourself!
At the same time, it’s okay to cry, too!

14. Be purposeful about developing mentoring relationships.
Find a mentor, be a mentor. We have much to learn from one another. 

13. Everyone has a story to share.
Take the time to share yours and to listen to others share theirs.

12. Take risks regularly.
Doesn’t have to be earth-shattering, but step outside of your comfort zone every now and then.

11. Practicing Sabbath is not an option.
Implementing the spiritual disciplines into my life has been transformational. 

10. Say, “NO!” to good things, in order to say, “YES!” to the best.

9. Don’t stop dreaming, or else you stop living. Be a life-long learner. Take every opportunity to grow, develop and nurture the gifts and talents you’ve been given to steward.

8. Love your neighbor.

7. Never underestimate the ministry that happens “between Sundays”. It ALL matters.  

6. Remember: Nice girls don’t change the world.
(Click on link to read the “Dangerous Women Creed”)

5. Embrace simplicity in all areas of life.
White space on the calendar is a good thing.

4. QUACK a lot! Sometimes, people are just stupid.

3. Don’t be afraid to ask for help when you need it.
In the same way, during another’s time of need, JUST SHOW UP.
Don’t wait to be asked.

2. Boundaries are necessary.
The gate can be opened, but that’s determined by me.

1. God can handle everything: times of questioning, doubts and disappointments. All have drawn me closer to Him. 

One response to “39 Things I’ve Learned in 39 Years

  1. Great thoughts here. Forwarding on to friends. Thanks!
    Susan

Leave a Reply

