[RECIPE] Sweet and Salty Chocolate Chip Cookies

photo

Last night, we kicked off Birthday Week for my son who’s turning 10 years old on Sunday. A few years ago, my husband instituted this special week, and we try to do something extra-special each day for the special person. It doesn’t have to be spendy, but it does need to be meaningful and out-of-the-ordinary.

Well, last night, I suggested we have chocolate chip cookies for dinner. My son looked at me with big eyes and said, “Mom, are you serious?” It was a rather shocking statement coming from me. This is definitely not the norm in our home, but I thought it would be fun.

The irony in all of this is that my husband, Jon, is known as “Cookie Man” in our home. For years, he’s made the most amazing homemade sugar cookies with decadent frosting. So good, you might consider eating it with a spoon. Of course, I wouldn’t know anything about that. Or would I? 🙂

Although I am a foodie, my specialty is cooking, not baking.  I could read recipes for days. So, I scoured the interent reading over a dozen or so chocolate chip cookie recipes.  I found ingredients in one that looked interesting, but the technique in another one was absolutely fascinating. (Have you ever dissolved baking soda in hot water? Me neither, but it worked some serious magic in this recipe!) Then, a strategic decision must be made: semi-sweet or dark? We decided upon dark chocolate sprinkled with coarse Kosher salt. And once that was settled, we were ready to get down to the business of baking cookies.

The results were fantabulous! Seriously, these were superb cookies. To be honest, I was shocked they turned out. I’m seriously NOT a baker. So, before I forgot what we did, I knew I had to write down the recipe. It’s one I will definitely be making again and again. And, of course, I’lll add a few variations like toffee bits or mint flavoring. YUM! This recipe make a lot (4 dozen). So, plan to share a plate with your neighbors.

Sweet and Salty Chocolate Chip Cookies
YIeld: aprx 4 dozen 

  • 1 cup butter, softened (or 1/2 butter and 1/2 coconut oil)
  • 1 cup raw sugar
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  •  2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons hot water
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups dark chocolate chips
  • Coarse Kosher salt, for garnish

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F . Cream together the butter, raw sugar, and brown sugar until smooth. Beat in the eggs, then stir in the vanilla. Dissolve baking soda in hot water, pour into mixing bowl. Stir in salt, flour and chocolate chips. Mix until combined. Use a cookie scoop to drop large spoonfuls onto ungreased pans. Sprinkle the tops of each cookie with a bit of coarse Kosher salt. Bake for arpx. 10-12 minutes in the preheated oven, or until edges are nicely browned. Allow to cool. But, seriously, we don’t have patience for that nonsense! So, we eat them straight from the oven.

One response to “[RECIPE] Sweet and Salty Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Mary Beth Reichow

    Thanks Jada! I’ll be baking these 🙂

Leave a Reply

