[Recipe] Smokey, Spicy and Sweet: Chipotle Vinaigrette

Taco Salad with Chipotle Vinaigrette

Taco Salad with Chipotle Vinaigrette

Last night, we had tacos. Usually, when I make tacos, there are  plenty of leftovers. And true to form, there were! As I packed up the leftovers last night, I began to consider how to use the leftover ingredients. I could make taco soup, burritos, enchiladas, tostadas.  But I kept coming back to a Taco Salad.

My kids let me sleep late this morning, which was so very nice. So, I didn’t get going until after 9AM. Even still, I had that salad on my mind. A banana and coffee supplied nourishment for breakfast. But by 11AM, I was ready for lunch. So, I whipped up a dressing for the salad. But not just any dressing, a Chipotle Vinaigrette that combined smokey, spicy and sweet flavors! So delicious!

This dressing is delicious on salads, but is equally tasty used as a marinade for chicken, beef, or fish. Combine it with Greek yogurt or mayonaise to top fish tacos or as a creamy cole slaw dressing. For a lighter taste, toss the vinaigrette into cole slaw. This would be great addition on top of a BBQ sandwich! Stir it into mayonaise to create a chipotle mayo, and use as a condiment for all sorts of sandwiches. Oh, man, I can just taste it slathered onto a crusty roll that is topped with thinly sliced steak, arugula, red onion and Pepper Jack cheese. Yum! There are so many uses and variations! Try it! You’ll love it!

Chipotle Vinaigrette

  • 2 T chipotle sauce, more to taste
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar 
  • 2 T  honey
  • 1 T Dijon mustard or other spicy mustard
  • 2 T lime juice (or lemon juice)
  • 1 t garlic powder
  • 1/2 t smoked paprika
  • Salt and black pepper, to taste

Combine all ingredients in a glass jar. Place on lid and secure. Then, shake vigorously, until combined.

One response to “[Recipe] Smokey, Spicy and Sweet: Chipotle Vinaigrette

Leave a Reply

