2013: Family Reading List

view-image

“Children are made readers on the laps of their parents.”
― Emilie Buchwald

When I think about my childhood, many memories involve books. Hours spent in my treehouse with a good book. Bike rides to the little country library, which was about 100 yards from my house, to check out a basket full of books for the week. An hour-long bus ride to/from school resulting in literary journeys to far off lands, where I met all sorts of characters and villains. And many hours spent snuggled up to my parents or grandparents as they shared their favorite stories with me. These are the memories I cherish, and desire to share with my own children. 

Thankfully, my husband and I are both avid readers, and we hope to pass along this passion obsession to our kids. We began reading to our kids when they were in the womb. To this day, we continue this ritual. From storybooks to joke books, novels and devotionals, there is an enormous selection of books to chose from and explore. This year, my husband and I decided to compile a list of titles we wanted to read to our kids. We may not get to them all, but we will sure try!

Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis

Where the Sidewalk Ends by Shel Silverstein

A Light in the Attic by Shel Silverstein

Christian Heroes (Books 1-5) by Janet & Geoff Benge

Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery

Hero Tales by Dave & Neta Jackson

Jesus Calling for Kids by Sarah Young

Jesus Calling Bible Storybook by Sarah Young

The Dig: Luke by Patrick Schwenk

Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum

Five Little Peppers and How They Grew by Margaret Sidney

Heidi by Johanna Spyri

The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain [Movie on YouTube]

Brighty of the Grand Canyon by Marguerite Henry[My mom read this to me!]

Mary Poppins by P. L. Travers

Mr. Poppers Penguins by Richard Atwater

The Story of Doctor Doolittle by Hugh Lofting

Tales from Shakespeare by Charles & Mary Lamb

Trial and Triumph by Richard M. Hannula [Read online HERE]

Seabird by Holling C. Holling

Tree in the Trail by Holling C. Holling

Leave a Reply

