Chutney Glazed Salmon and Tasty ‘Taters [Recipe]

432368_10151111144965882_1196986635_n

My daughter absolutely loves salmon. So much so, she pleaded with me to make it sometime this week. I decided I’d make it tonight. The problem: how would I prepare it? I looked into the fridge and saw a half-used jar of chutney, Dijon mustard and thought, “This might taste okay together!” A little bit of this, a little bit of that and BOOM!

As I was preparing the salmon, acorn squash was roasting in the oven. But I recalled a container of mashed potatoes lurking in the refrigerator, which needed to be eaten.  Argh! The mom in me knew we needed something ‘green’ on the plate. What was I gonna do? Well, of course, I googled “mashed potatoes and spinach or kale,” and discovered a delectable recipe from Simply Recipes for Colcannon. This is a traditional Irish dish served on St. Patrick’s Day, and it sounded yummy.  Since my potatoes were ready to go, I improvised a bit, which cut down on the preparation time. Plus, I added a few things to the original, too!

This meal was a tasty, go-to meal for a weeknight dinner. From beginning to end, it was ready to go in about 45 minutes! That’s what I like! And my daughter gave it “two thumbs up”! I think we’ll keep it in the rotation! Score!

 

Chutney Glazed Salmon

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup chutney (any jarred variety is fine)
  • 2 tablespoons Dijon mustard
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/ 4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 4 (6 to 8 ounce) salmon fillets

Directions:
Preheat broiler.  In a small bowl, combine chutney, mustard and seasonings. Place fish on a baking dish coated with cooking spray or olive oil. Slather half of marmalade mixture over fish; broil 6-8 minutes. Take fish out, spread remaining chutney mixture over the fish; broil for 2 -3 minutes.

Colcannon (aka Tasty ‘Taters)

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups of mashed potatoes, prepared just the way you like them!
  • 1 teaspoon of olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon of butter
  • 2 teaspoons of minced garlic
  • 3-4 cups of kale or spinach, roughly chopped
  • 2 ounces of Feta cheese
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:
In a medium sized pan, heat olive oil and butter over medium heat. Add garlic. Careful not to burn. Next, add kale and mashed potatoes, stirring to combine.  (If mashed potatoes are leftovers, as mine were, make sure to heat through.) Stir in Feta cheese, salt and pepper.  Enjoy!

3 responses to “Chutney Glazed Salmon and Tasty ‘Taters [Recipe]

  1. Oh, how I wish I were your next-door neighbor!

  2. Rendy, I’m just seeing this, sorry for not responding. Yes, I think being your neighbor would be FUN! Hope y’all are doing well in Wyoming.

  3. Sounds delicious to me! It might be a way to get my husband to eat some cooked greens! Then again…maybe not.

Leave a Reply

