The Best Brussels Sprout Ever!

Teriyaki Salmon, Couscous and The Best Brussel Sprouts Ever!

I will be the first to admit, I didn’t like brussels sprout. Actually, until a few years ago, I’d never eaten brussels sprout, but I still didn’t like them. I just knew it. Then, one Christmas dinner changed everything. My sister-in-law and mother-in-law prepared brussels sprout in heavy cream and butter and cheese. And they were DIVINE! Divine, I tell ya! Absolutely, lick-your-fingers-and-plate-clean fabulous! I mean, how can anything not be scrumptious slathered in butter and cream? Come on now!

Even though it’s been several Christmases ago, my daughter still requests that ‘vegetable we ate at Grandma’s house’. I kept asking, “What vegetable?” She said, “MOM, that greenish vegetable that was like broccoli, but not broccoli.” I named off every green vegetable simliar to broccoli that I could think of, but was at a complete loss. She was frustrated. I was frustrated. Why couldn’t I figure out something so simple? Then, a few weeks ago, we went to Costco.

On this particular day, Jamison was with me in my mad-dash shopping trip. You see, there’s a stereotype about women that I don’t fit at all (actually, there’a a few stereotypes that I don’t fit, but anyways…) One in particular states how much women enjoying shopping. Yea, that’s not so much me! I just don’t enjoy it. I mean I really, REALLY don’t. And Costco sucks the life out of me. I don’t know what it is, but I feel exhausted the moment I walk into that store. At the same time, I appreciate the quality of their products, especially their produce.

Anyways, we were seriously cruising through the store, attempting to break a record for the shortest shopping trip. Our last stop was the produce area. Now, it’s freezing in the produce area at Costco, so I was trying to quickly grab what I needed and get out fast. Then, it was as if the skies opened up and a bright light pierced through the clouds onto one particular corner. In fact, I thought I heard a chorus of angels, but in reality it was my 7-year old daughter shrieking in delight.

“Momma! Momma! This is it! This is it! This is the vegetable I’ve been wanting! Can we get them? Can we get them?”

And what was causing such a ruckus in the produce section of Costco?  Brussels sprout. Seriously, she’s jumping up and down and pointing to a Costco-sized bag of brussel sprouts. Usually, this child begs me for soda or candy or junk food? But brussel sprouts. Really?

I said, “Jamison, I have never made brussels sprout. The only time I’ve eaten them was at Grandma’s!” She replies, “But you can make them Mommy, I know you can!”

At this point, I am more than ready to get out of Costco, so I succumb to the pressure and throw them into the cart. Making my way to the checkout, I think,  “What in the world am I going to do with brussels sprout?” I mean, I seriously love food and cooking. Yet, at the same time, I hate wasting food and money.

After I got home, I was on a mission to figure out what to do with brussels sprout! Like many of my friends, I’ve discovered if you roast vegetables, the sweetness comes out like magic. My kids love roasted broccoli, cauliflower and carrots. So, why not roast brussel sprouts? After a couple of tries, I came up with a dish that my husband refers to as “candy”.

Yep, candy and brussels sprout in the same sentence! Can you even even believe?

Roasted Brussels Sprout

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 lbs of brussels sprout
  • Olive Oil
  • Balsamic Vinegar
  • Salt and Pepper
  • 2-3 cloves of chopped or sliced garlic
  • 1/2 cup Toasted Walnuts (or pine nuts)*
  •  4 ounces Blue Cheese*
  • 1/4 cup Craisins*

    Directions:

    Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Cut off the ends of the brussels sprout and halve. Place on a baking sheet. Drizzle with olive oil, vinegar, garlic and season with salt and pepper. Toss with your hands to coat them evenly. Roast for 20-25 minutes. Place in  a bowl, add roasted walnuts, blue cheese, and craisins. Stirring to just combine ingredients. Add more salt and pepper, to taste. Enjoy!

    *A variation is to use toasted pine nuts, feta cheese and sun-dried tomatoes. Delicious!

2 responses to “The Best Brussels Sprout Ever!

  1. I also bake them with broth, whipping cream, and parmesan cheese, and they are amazing!

  2. Had these tonight. Used the variation and scarfed them with my eldest! Yummo!!

Leave a Reply

