November: Meals for a Month [And a Very Special Gathering]

For several reasons, I am excited for the month of November.  First, I am excited to spend Thanksgiving in Montana with my husband’s family. I don’t remember the last time our family was able to spend a holiday with his parents, brothers and sister and their families. It’s been several years, so we are really, really looking forward to this.  The cousins are going to have such fun playing together. My kids are hoping for massive amounts of snow!

As well, I’m excited  to have the awesome privilege to lead at TouchPoint’s Ministry’s Prayer Retreat with my spiritual mentor, Rita Nussli! It’s nice to be able to operate in my ‘sweet spot’. Not to mention, I highly identify with the mission and vision of this organization, which is made up of some strong and godly women! So excited!

Lastly, this month brings much anticipation and excitement for a very special gathering in my home. Over 10 years ago, I met some amazing women from various parts of the world in an online community forum for pastors’ wives and women in ministry. Although I have only met a few face-to-face, all have become very dear friends, prayer partners and comrades on this faith journey. We have laughed, cried and prayed each other through significant life events, seasons and changes.

And in just a few weeks, many of us will all be in the same country at the same time in the same place! The tissue boxes are on standby because I know I will be shedding tears of joys when I finally see their precious faces and hear their voices! For those unable to make it, we will have a Skype date! Seriously, I can’t begin to express my excitement!

But even with all this excitement and festivities, my family has to eat. Darn those pesky hunger pains and need for nutritious sustenance! (I am only kidding!) So, on with the planning of meals! Surely, with the retreats and traveling, it’s going to be a rather easy month to plan menus! Or so I think…we’ll see.

Meals for a Month: November 2012

Soups:

Chicken & Sausage Gumbo, Rice and Green Salad

Crock pot Vegetarian Lentil Chili with toppings and Quinoa

Curried Chicken Corn Chowder , Naan Bread & Fruit Tray
(Tate of Home Farm Fresh Cookbook, pg 96)

Seafood:

Broiled Salmon, Roasted Butternut Squash w/ Lentils & Walnuts, & Roasted Brussel Sprouts

Shrimp Étouffée, Rice, and Mixed Green Salad

Tuna Croquettes, Not Your Mama’s Mac ‘n Cheese, and Green Beans

Beef/Pork:

P.F. Chang’s Mongolian Beef (recipe), Rice, Garlic Green Beans

Kale, Sausage & Lentil Skillet Supper , Roasted Brussel Sprouts, & 30 Minute Rolls

Baked Cream Cheese Spaghetti, Tossed Salad

Poultry:

Caribbean Chicken, Coconut Rice & Roasted Broccoli

Chicken Marsala, Orzo with Parmesan and Basil, Spinach Salad

Chili Maple Chicken, Roasted Potatoes and Spicy Cauliflower

Meatless:

Sweet Potato and Black Bean Burgers, Vegetable Tray with Dip

Mujadara, Middle Eastern Spiced Carrots

Lentil Coconut Curry, Basmati Rice, & Curried Cauliflower

Breakfast for Dinner:

Soaked Oatmeal Pancakes, Bacon & Fruit

Biscuits and Egg Gravy, Sausage & Fruit

Baked Oatmeal, Sausage and Fruit

Leftovers:

5 dinners, plus lunches

Leave a Reply

