Momma, Why do we pray?

Yesterday morning, I began writing this post. Then, the busyness of the day ensued. Not busyness for the sake of getting things marked off my to-do list. Rather, busyness that was life-giving, joy-giving, and thanks-giving.

After the children had completed their “book learning” for the day (taught by their dad), we headed for the YMCA. Really, this was a continuation of school, since it was PE! 🙂 Yet, my husband’s promise of a trip to the pool was an ingenious incentive to motivate the children to complete their assignments! (He’s a smart man!)

So, in the middle of writing out my list of “gifts,”  I graciously accepted the invitation to tag along with my family. A trip to the YMCA to swim (them) and to run (me), turned into an extended outing, which culminated with a trip to the Red Box to select a movie for “Family Movie Night”. Then, home to make homemade pizza.

Yet, a significant part of my day occurred at the very end.

As I was tucking my daughter into bed, she said,

“Momma, if God knows everything and knows exactly what we are going to pray, why do we pray?”

Which led me to share with her, yes, God does know everything. And He does know exactly what we are going to pray and how He is going to answer our prayers. Yet, God wants us to get to know Him, the way He knows us. He wants to have a relationship with us. A meaningful friendship.

When the children were younger,  we shared with them the ACTS model of prayerWe discussed that a bit.

A-Adoration: Adore God, love Him and praise Him for who He is.

C-Confession: Admit your sins to God, ask for His forgiveness through faith that Jesus died for our sins.

T-Thanksgiving: Thank God for answered prayers, for the good things He has done in your life. For growth.

S-Supplication: Pray for your family and friends, for those who are sick or sad. Pray for those who are not Christians yet. Pray for your own spiritual growth and any other need you might have.

Then, I shared with her my life’s verse, Psalms 37:4

Take delight in the LORD, 
   and he will give you the desires of your heart.

And how in my own faith journey, prayer has become more about getting to know God, and less about getting what I want (or think I want).  I have discovered His desires have become my desires. His hopes and dreams for my life have become my hopes and dreams for my life. And in those those times when the words just won’t come, I sit, wait and listen.

Prayer isn’t just about sharing our requests and then, hoping we get what we asked for. When we pray, we do some of the talking, but we need to listen, too. Sometimes, the listening is the hardest part. Or so I’ve found.  When we pray, we need to allow our hearts and minds to quiet from the noise and busyness of the day, so that we can hear that “still, small voice,” which is God’s voice.

To my surprise, she seemed to “get it”.

Yet, to be honest, I think this conversation was a gentle reminder from God to me. Isn’t that how it usually goes? 🙂

Continuing to add to my lists of gifts:


6. Friends who allow me to share my laughter and tears. 

7. Flowers blooming, which reminds me of ever-changing seasons….in nature and in my life.

8. Time spent with family. Doing something or nothing at all.

9. Finding crawfish to make Crawfish Étouffée.

10. Holy Week and all it represents in my life: freedom, salvation, grace, love.

One response to “Momma, Why do we pray?

  1. thriftymommagogo

    Hi there! I am visiting from UBP
    12. I also write a blog that is sometimes about special needs.

    http://www.thriftymommastips.com/
    @inkscrblr

Leave a Reply

