Walk with Him Wednesday: Scripture Memorization

You’d think memorization would be easy for me. I mean, after all, in another seeason, I easily memorized 20+ page operatic arias or other vocal/choral works (in foreign languages, no less), along with page upon page of dialogue for theatrical productions.  So, what is it that makes memorizing scripture so difficult? I am sure some of it has to do with the many distractions in my life and, honestly, just not making taking the time to do it.  I am, also, keenly aware that as much as God desires for me to memorize His Word, another force doesn’t want me to “hide His Word in my heart” and makes every attempt to keep me from doing so. But I am taking a stand, making scripture memory a priority, and including my children in this endeavor.

This year, my children and I have committed to Memorize The Mount.  Many thanks to Ann Voskamp, who wrote 1000 Gifts  and blogs at A Holy Experiencefor challenging me in this endeavor. She’s even created memorization cards for all to use. You can download them [here].

Although, we started the journey of Memorizing the Mount a few weeks after it was originally launched, we are continuing on at a steady pace. Taking our time and making sure the words “stick” and “take root”. What about you? Would you like to join us on this journey? Simply start at the beginning and take your time. Don’t worry if you get behind (we did). Just keep at it. Allowing these sacred words to change and transform our hearts and lives.

Here is what we have memorized so far,

Seeing the crowds, he went up on the mountain, and when he sat down, his disciples came to him
And he opened his mouth and taught them, saying:
 “Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
 “Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.
 “Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth.
“Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.
“Blessed are the merciful, for they shall receive mercy.
“Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God.
“Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God.
“Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake,
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
“Blessed are you when others revile you and persecute you
and utter all kinds of evil against you falsely on my account.
Rejoice and be glad, for your reward is great in heaven,
for so they persecuted the prophets who were before you.
Matthew 5:1-12 

Leave a Reply

