2012: Books to Read

I read.  Actually, I read a lot. For work. For school. For pleasure. For home schooling. I just like to read.

At the beginning of each year, I formulate a list of books that I would like to read. Many of which are already on my Kindle. These titles cover a variety of disciplines and topics. Usually, I gravitate towards non-fiction-teach-me-something sorts of books. However, I am trying to read more fiction, so I am not always “taking in information”.

The following is just a partial list. For home schooling, I will be reading many others titles with my children, following the list from  Ambleside OnlineAlso, in a couple of months, I will begin The Academy of Spiritual Formation and Direction with Soul Formation, which will provide me with a few more titles to add to the list.

2012: Books to Read

Malachi (This is the book that I’ll be studying this year in my personal Bible study)

Character Makeover: 40 Days with a Life Coach to Create the Best You  by Katie Brazelton and Shelley Leith

7 : An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess by Jen Hatmaker

Barefoot Church by Brandon Hatmaker

The Blue Parakeet by Scot McKnight

King Arthur Flour Whole Grain Baking: Delicious Recipes Using Nutritious Whole Grains (King Arthur Flour Cookbooks)

The Simple Dollar: How One Man Wiped Out His Debts and Achieved the Life of His Dreams by Trent A. Hamm

Five Conversations You Must Have with Your Daughter by Vicki Courtney

Worship on Earth as It Is in Heaven: Exploring Worship as a Spiritual Discipline by Rory Noland

What Your Childhood Memories Say about You . . . and What You Can Do about It by Kevin Leman

Gifted to Lead by Nancy Beach

The 21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership: Follow Them and People Will Follow You by John C. Maxwell

Holy Listening: The Art of Spiritual Direction by Margaret Guenther

The Table Experience: Discover What Creates Deeper, More Meaningful Relationships by Devi Titus

Candlelight: Illuminating the Art of Spiritual Direction by Susan S. Phillips

31 Days to Clean: Having a Martha House the Mary Way by Sarah Mae

Spiritual Mentoring by Keith R. Anderson & Randy D. Reese


Strengthening the Soul of Your Leadership by Ruth Haley Barton

 
Sacred Marriage  by Gary Thomas

The Gift of an Ordinary Day: A Mother’s Memoir by Katrina Kenison

Like Sweet Potato Pie (Southern Fried Sushi) by Jennifer Rogers Spinola

52 Ways to Wow Your Husband: How to Put a Smile on His Face by Pam Farrel

50 Soups (Cooking in America) by Thomas Murrey

All Different Kinds of Free by Jessica McCann

When I Lay Down My Isaac by Carol Kent

How to Be a Best Friend Forever: Making and Keeping Lifetime Relationships by Dr. John Townsend

Sacred Parenting by Gary Thomas
2 responses to “2012: Books to Read

  1. Great list! For fiction, I recommend anything by Alison Strobel. I would love to read all those SF books. Trouble is, I read but don’t follow through/apply.

  2. I saw your booklist on Pinterest- the first 2 on your list are also at the top of my 2012 list 🙂
    Blessings,
    Catherine

Leave a Reply

