Menu Plan Monday: November 14-November 20

A while back I completed a Menu Plan Marathon, which was the compilation of three months of menus for our family.[CLICK HERE FOR MENUS] When I developed the menus, I gathered family favorites (my kids helped a lot), new recipes that I wanted to try, and the freezer and pantry inventories. After taking all of this into consideration, I devised three months of menus.  Since I created the menus based upon what I had on hand, trips to the grocery store are minimal. Only requiring me to purchase produce and dairy items or pantry items that are on a significant sale. (Contrary to popular belief, this female doesn’t like to shop. So, fewer shopping trips is fine by me!)

Borrowing the technique of long-range planning from various work projects, I decided to transfer this technique into my role as a home manager. Although, this was my first attempt, it’s worked out nicely for us. When I am working and my husband is in charge of feeding the family, he can select which meal to prepare or choose from a few freezer meals that we have prepared ahead of time. For me, it’s nice knowing there is a plan. Even if we choose to divert from  the plan occasionally. It’s a “fluid” document, not one that is set in stone.

This type of long-range menu planning has made the short-term projects (preparing meals) and tasks (grocery shopping) easier and less time-consuming. Although there are many ways to plan and prepare menus and meals, I think I’ll be continuing with this strategy.  It’s working for us! 🙂

Monday:
Lemon Parmesan Crusted Tilapia, Whole Grain Pilaf, GlazedAcorn Squash and Roasted Broccoli

Tuesday:
Breakfast for Dinner: Bacon, Eggs and Toast

Wednesday:
Freezer Meal: Bolognese Sauce (made a triple batch last week), Whole Wheat Penne Pasta, and Salad

Thursday:
Crock Pot Meal:  Lentil Chili with Quinoa

Friday:
Asian Chicken Drumsticks, Coconut Rice, Sesame Green Beans

Saturday:
“Better Than Take-0ut” Pizza and Green Salad

Sunday:
Leftovers (preparing to head out-of-town)

Leave a Reply

