Thirty Days of Thanksgiving: Day 10 – Cooking with my Kids

This is part of a series called “Thirty Days of Thanksgiving”. 

A compilation of what I am most thankful. In no certain order. Just those things most near and dear to me.

It’s no secret I like to cook [CLICK HERE]. It’s my hobby. The kitchen is my creative space. Pots, pans, knives, and such are my tools. The pantry, freezer, and spice rack contain supplies that I use to create culinary delights to share with others. Namely, my family, close friends, and other welcomed guests, who gather around our table to share a meal.

My kitchen is where I go to escape the cares of the world.  To be alone and think. To let off some steam (Have you ever kneaded dough?) I’m not sure how, but I really get lost chopping and slicing, sautéing and simmering. Turn the tunes up on the iPod and I could spend days cooking, baking, broiling and tasting.

However, in the last couple of years, I’ve had to learn how to share my hobby and my creative space. With whom? My two kids. We’ve made pizza [CLICK HERE] and pasta [CLICK HERE], soups [CLICK HERE] and salad dressings [CLICK HERE], along with many other yummy culinary creations.

Sometimes, our creations are a disaster. Other times, a pleasant surprise. Even still, I’ve enjoyed teaching the kids how to cook. Having them help me plan menus and go shopping for new and fun ingredients. Personally, I’ve found whenever the kids cook, they’ll try just about anything. Fewer arguments about trying something new, for sure! (But, there’s always PBJ, our standby when they choose not to eat something I’ve prepared.) 🙂

Mostly, though, I am just thankful my kids desire to spend time with me and share in something that brings me so much joy. The kitchen is definitely more than just a place to cook. It’s a place to connect. And, although I still enjoy my “kitchen cave time,” cooking with my kids is an experience I wouldn’t trade for the world!

Leave a Reply

