Thirty Days of Thanksgiving: Day 9 – The Moore’s

This is part of a series called “Thirty Days of Thanksgiving”. 

A compilation of what I am most thankful. In no certain order. Just those things most near and dear to me.

My life has been richly blessed by so many wonderful people. One family, in particular, stands out as having touched my life in very significant ways, The Moore Family.

Thanks to a program sponsored by the college ministry of  First Baptist Church in Ruston, LA, I became the Moore’s “adopted college student”. A while back, I wrote about this special family. [CLICK HERE]

The Moore's (minus their now-grown kids)

The Moore’s have stood by my side and walked with me through various seasons of my life.

On the night when my parents and I met my biological family for the first time, the Moore’s were there to offer me love and support. During the holidays of 1996, when a certain gentleman from Seattle, WA flew all the way to Louisiana to visit me and profess his love for me, he was first introduced to the Moore’s. (They pre-screened all my potential beaus. Jon passed with flying colors; others weren’t so lucky.)

Whenever I had a voice recital, or other theatrical performance, you can better believe the Moore’s were there with smiling faces, which I would catch a glimpse of from the stage.  And no matter how late the time was on the clock, the Moore’s would sit and chat with me while I talked through major life decisions. Always advising me to follow my heart because they knew I had a good “head on my shoulders” and would make the right decision.

The week of my college graduation, my grandmother passed away. While I waited for my folks to arrive from out-of-town, the Moore’s sat with me at the hospital. Not concerned with the fact that I called them in the wee hours of the morning, they just showed up to be with me.  And on the most special day of my life, my wedding day,  the Moores and their children sat on the “family row,”  alongside my mom and dad.

Because that’s what they are—MY FAMILY. 

Even after all these years, we remain in touch and they continue to hold a significant place in my life. I treasure this family. And am so thankful to have been blessed by their presence in my life.

For what are you most thankful? Join me in “Thirty Days of Thanksgiving.”


Leave a Reply

