Thirty Days of Thanksgiving: Day 4- My Daughter

This is part of a series called “Thirty Days of Thanksgiving”. 

A compilation of what I am most thankful in no certain order. Just those things most near and dear to me.

“Well, Little Mama, we can already tell whose baby this is. She looks exactly like you!” said my amazing doctor, who performed the c-section on that March day in 2005.

I could hear the baby’s cries and saw the tears streaming down my husband’s face. I tried to peer over the screen, which separated me from this new little life. Just then, Jon placed her on my chest. Sure enough, she looked just like me. [I’m adopted so this was very cool on so many levels.]

They took her aside to clean her up and get her swaddled. Tears came to my eyes. Tears that represented so much — joy, happiness, tiredness, and relief. But mostly tears of thankfulness and gratefulness. She was here and healthy.

My “mini-me,” Jamison Briley Swanson

Like our son, Jamison had a “name story,” too. Early in my pregnancy, we knew this would most likely be our last opportunity to have a child…at least biologically. Unfortunately, this baby didn’t cooperate during the ultrasounds. So, other than my “gut feeling” that it was a girl, we really had no clue.

Regardless of gender, we wanted the baby’s name to honor our dads.  Since my father-in-law’s name is “James” and my daddy’s middle name is “Briley,” we decided Jamison Briley Swanson would be the name for our baby. Boy or girl, this was it.

Some folks have said, “That sounds like a boy’s name!” But let me tell ya, she is all girl. Frills, lace, the color pink and tutus abound in her world.

And Jamison has brought such energy and excitement into our lives. Often, we refer to her as the “Energizer Bunny”. [Remember those commercials? That’s her!] She fills our home with hugs and kisses, musical and artistic creations. Not to mention all the one-liners that would make Bill Cosby or Tim Hawkins double over in laughter.

She might look like me, but this child is a total “Daddy’s Girl.” They have a unique and special bond, which makes me smile. I know how important this relationship is now and will continue to be in the years to come.

And her brother is her best friend. Two peas in a pod, they are. Usually, where one is, you will find the other.

Jamison equally loves dolls and tea parties, Legos and Star Wars. And her most favorite of all: the Narnia movies. But, she will be the first to say, “I love Jesus most of all, even more than Jadon, Momma or Daddy!” And that right there, my dear, is how it should be. Always!

So, today, I am thankful for my daughter, Jamison Briley Swanson. Like her brother, this little girl has taught me so much. And I am sure the lessons will continue in the years to come.

For what are you most thankful? Join me in “Thirty Days of Thanksgiving.”


Leave a Reply

