Thirty Days of Thanksgiving: Day 3- Coffee

This is part of a series called “Thirty Days of Thanksgiving”. 

A compilation of what I am most thankful. In no certain order. Just those things most near and dear to me.

Today, I am thankful for coffee. Not merely for the boost of energy it gives me in the mornings. Rather for the memories I have from sharing a cup with various people throughout my life.

As a young girl, I remember sharing many afternoons cups of coffee with my MawMaw, my mom’s mother. We’d sit in her front room or on the front porch in the swing, watching the trains speed by in front of her house. (Her house was about 50 yards from the train tracks in the rural North Louisiana town where I was raised.)

MawMaw’s afternoon ritual always included a cup of instant coffee “doctored up” with sugar and milk. She’d pour the coffee from the cup into a saucer, allow to cool and then, she’d slurp it up.  I can still see her smile and hear her voice, even the sound of her sips/slurps. Good memories.

When I was in college at Louisiana Tech University, many late nights (and early mornings) were spent at a donut shop in Ruston, LA, studying for tests or just shooting the breeze with friends. The donuts were good; the coffee, not so much. 🙂

After college, while on a music tour, I was introduced to “froo-froo” coffee by a former boss.  One day, a few hours before an evening concert, we stopped at a roadside coffee stand in Oregon. He asked if I wanted a latte. I said, “A what?”

I thought, “What in the world is he talking about?”

I am sure he was thinking, “Poor little girl from Louisiana. They have sweet tea, but not good coffee.”

Being from Seattle, the “Coffee Mecca,” he said I had to try one. So, he purchased one for me–a TRIPLE shot, which provided just a bit of “extra” energy for the concert that evening. Choreography was super-fast that night.

Since then, he and I have shared many cups of coffee. And I anticipate sharing many, many more in the years to come. Not only did he buy me my first latte, he bought me an engagement ring, too! Not bad, eh?!

Coffee represents traveling to one of our family’s most treasured destinations in the world, Costa Rica. In 2007, our family (kids, included) took two trips to this amazing country. Immediately, we knew this was a special place. Of course, the coffee was amazing and many cups were enjoyed. Yet, it was the people we met, our “Costa Rica Family,”  that were the real treasures of that trip.

La Familia de Costa Rica

So, call it superficial, but today, I am thankful for coffee. In fact, I think I will go enjoy a cup right now. And as I enjoy the steaming cup, doctored with brown sugar and cream, I will remember all the cups I have shared with many special people throughout the years.

For what are you most thankful? Join me in “Thirty Days of Thanksgiving.”


Leave a Reply

