(Almost) Mom’s Chicken ‘N Dumplings

When I think of home, I think Southern comfort food. Not only did my mom make Chicken ‘n Dumplings, but my “adopted college family” made me this meal. In fact, the first meal that I remember having at my “adopted college family’s” nearly 20 years ago (Yikes! I’m getting old!) was “Mr. Mark’s Chicken ‘n Dumplings”. And, boy, were they good! This recipe is a combination of my mom’s and Mr. Marks with my little twist.

I usually make this recipe the day that I have cooked a couple of chickens, which I then de-bone and freeze the meat for later use. Then, I use the bones to make an amazing stock, which is the base for the Chicken and Dumplings. However, this recipe can be easily adapted to use pre-cooked chicken (frozen from an early freezer cooking day), or any type of chicken that you and your family prefer (white or dark meat).  It’s a very forgiving recipe, I think.

(Almost) Mom’s Chicken ‘N Dumplings

Ingredients:

  • 2-4 cups of diced chicken meat, depending how “meaty” you like it
  • Broth, use enough to fill a large pot 1/2 full (about 3-4 quarts)
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 ribs of celery, diced
  • 2 carrots, sliced
  • 2 teaspoons of dried parsley
  • 3 bay leaves
  • 1/2 teaspoon of poultry seasonings
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • ***2 can cream of chicken soup (Make your own, I do! Super-simple! [recipe] or [recipe]. )
  • 1 package of wonton wrappers, cut in half. (Or make them from scratch.)

***Edited: I’ve begun using 1/2 cup of half and half, instead of the creamed soup.

Directions

In a large pot, place chicken, broth, celery, onion and carrots, along with bay leaf and parsley, and poultry seasonings. Allow to come to a boil. Cook until chicken is done, aprx. 30 minutes. Bring back up to a rolling boil. Add wonton wrappers (or flour tortillas) one at a time.  Cook five minutes, or so. Turn heat down to low. Add cream of chicken soup, stirring gently to combine. Season to taste. We like this with A LOT of black pepper. Cook until dumplings are “fork tender,” aprx. 10-15 minutes.

Check out more tasty recipes over at “Beauty and Bedlam’s Tasty Tuesdays” and “Blessed with Grace’s Tempt My Tummy Tuesday” .

Leave a Reply

