Soaked Oatmeal Pancakes

“Soaked oatmeal? What are you talking about?”

Yes, this is what I thought, too. However, there are many reasons to soak your grains. Check out articles HERE, HERE, HERE, or HERE.

After reading about this process, I decided to start with something simple. The first time I made “Soaked Oatmeal Pancakes,” the kids were not fans. It probably had something to do with it being the first time I used coconut oil.[HERE]

The pancakes were on the menu plan this week. I even linked a recipe. Instead of using the recipe (GASP!), I decided to add a little bit of this, a little bit of that and well, just see what happened. It’s just so darn hard for me to really follow a recipe. I just can’t do it! I have to do my own thing. (This spills over into other areas of my life, too. Imagine that!)

Well, this time, whatever concoction I created was successful. The kids exclaimed, “You’re the greatest Mom ever!” This probably had more to do with the Nutella that topped their pancakes.  Nevertheless, they ate six pancakes. Then, requested them for breakfast this morning. Yes, again, with Nutella! 🙂

Still, my friends, I think we have a winner with this recipe! And you can top them with whatever it is you like. Personally, I prefer butter and maple syrup, or sliced strawberries! YUM!

Soaked Oatmeal Pancakes

  • 2 cups of oatmeal 
  • 2 cups of buttermilk or yogurt
  • 1/2 cup of spelt flour
  • 1⁄4 cup melted coconut oil, or butter.
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 T of ground flax seed, plus 3 T of water (this equals an egg, plus adds protein)
  • Water, as needed, to thin the batter
  • 2T agave nectar, honey, or sugar
  • 1 t. baking powder
  • 1 t. soda
  • 1⁄4 t. salt
  • 1⁄2 t. cinnamon
  • 1 t. vanilla

Directions:

In a large bowl, soak the oats and spelt flour in the buttermilk or yogurt for an hour or overnight (Cover and leave on kitchen counter). After soaking,  stir in the reaming ingredients. Add just enough water to thin the batter, 1/4-1/2 cup. Heat a griddle or cast iron skillet, grease with coconut oil or butter. Fry pancakes until both sides are golden brown. They will be slightly crispy on the edges, which makes them delicious! Serve with your favorite pancake toppings. This recipe is easily doubled or tripled.

One response to “Soaked Oatmeal Pancakes

  1. yum, those sound good! I love making oatcakes from nourishing traditions- I soak them in a water/goat milk combination and add blueberries, but my kids will not eat them. *These- sound great! I have great hopes of finally converting my kids over to healthy pancakes! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

