Alfredo Pasta Bake

Alfredo Pasta Bake

Returning to work after having been on vacation, my husband and I hit the ground running, so as to speak. We both had “to-do” lists a mile long.  Today, since he had a meeting and several work projects, he left early this morning and will return later this evening. Most of what I needed to do work-wise could be done at home. While the kids played with a friend, I worked.  I had quiet the productive day reading, researching and writing! 🙂

When dinnertime rolled around,  I almost said, “Cereal for dinner!” Which usually elicits shrieks of delight from the children. However, since we’ve been away, I haven’t cooked a lot (my creative outlet). So, I opted to throw a quick dinner together for us.

I scoured the pantry, freezer and fridge and was delighted to find chicken, pasta, capers, onions, sun-dried tomatoes, and Alfredo sauce. With these ingredients, I could put a nice twist on macaroni and cheese, one of the kids favorite pasta dishes.

For the most part, my kids are adventurous eaters. Although, I do have to sneak things in from time to time. As the pasta water was boiling, I made sure to finely chop the sun-dried tomatoes and capers, the “secret ingredients”  of the dish. (“Secret Ingredients” is a game we play whenever the kids are cooking with me, or whenever I am trying out something new in a dish.)

Even though, the kid have had sun-dried tomatoes and capers several times before, I was a bit skeptical of what they would think of the culinary creation. I was pleasantly surprised when they gave this dish “two thumbs-up,” going back for seconds, thirds and fourth servings.

My daughter said, “Now, Mom, this is GOOD pasta!”

I asked, “Do you know what the secret ingredients are?”

To which she replied, “Nope!”

“Sun-dried tomatoes and capers!” I responded.

Without missing a beat, she said, “Yum! Can I have a snack now?”

This recipe will definitely be made again! If you try it, I hope you enjoy!

Alfredo Pasta Bake

  • 1/2 yellow onion, small dice
  • 2 T of capers, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup of sun-dried tomatoes, finely chopped
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 chicken breasts, cooked and shredded or cubed (Usually, I keep cooked, seasoned chicken frozen for quick go-to meals. Or, you can use canned chicken breast.)
  • 1 jar of Alfredo Sauce (Or make it homemade. Here is a recipe from “Heavenly Homemakers.”)
  • 1 box of whole wheat rotini pasta, cooked al dente and drained
  • 1/4 cup of shredded Parmesan cheese
  • 1 t. of dried Italian seasonings
  • Salt and Pepper, to taste
Directions: Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Boil pasta, according to directions. Finely chop sun-dried tomatoes, capers and onions. In a pan on medium-high heat, sauté onion in a little bit of olive oil, just until it begins to caramelize. Turn heat down and add garlic. (Make sure not to burn it! 🙂 ) Add sun-dried tomatoes, capers, and chicken, stirring to combine. Add Italian seasonings, salt and pepper.  Heating all until just warm. In the pasta pot, combine pasta, Alfredo sauce and the other ingredients. Gently stir to combine. Place in an 8 x 8 baking dish. Top with Parmesan cheese. Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes or until cheese is lightly browned.
Leave a Reply

