Menu Plan Monday: 5/23 and Spring Cleaning

As I’ve stated often, my meal plan is more like a suggestion, than a rule. Something to give me an idea of what to fix, not a mandate. However, things come up, plans change, or I”m just not in the mood. (Yes, as the mom and chef, I get to decide! :-)) This week, my husband’s been out-of-town. Therefore, soup, cereal and salad have ruled our menu! (So thankful my kids eat just about anything!)

I made a big ole pot of “Chicken and Vegetable Soup” Monday morning. Had I let them, my kids would probably eat it for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 🙂 Actually, we did eat it for lunch AND dinner yesterday. I froze the rest for “go-to meals,” when life gets crazy-busy. Then, for tonight’s dinner, we had breakfast. I made pancakes that were really yummy! (Posting recipe soon!) Other meals have been, “eat-whatever-you-can-find” sorts of meals. (Please tell me you do this, too?!)

Even with the impromptu meals and changes this week, I still think meal planning is worth it. However, as soon as the Hubs gets home, we have some serious “Spring Cleaning” to do. One task on my list is to make an up-to-date list of pantry and freezer items, which will make meal planning easier and more effective. I’ve been lax with this the last few months. That’s just only one of the many items that we need to accomplish. Can you tell we have put of Spring Cleaning this year? I’m not really a fan of it, but it has to be done! 🙂

Being the planner (uh, nerd) that I am, I have bookmarked a few Spring Cleaning Checklists.

Organized Home’s Spring Cleaning Checklist

Right at Home Room-by-Room Checklists

Martha’ Stewart’s Spring Cleaning 101

Here’s the revised menu plan for the month of May: 

23. Baked Chicken, Rice, Veggies

NEW PLAN: Homemade Chicken and Vegetable Soup

24: Bobotie (South African Dish), Yellow Rice and Green Beans

NEW PLAN: Homemade Pancakes with Peanut Butter and Nutella (Yes, tasted just like a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup!)

25. Mujadara and Steamed Vegetables

26. Crock pot: Vegetarian Lentil Chili with Brown Rice

27. Grilled BBQ Pork Chops, Pasta Salad and Veggie Tray

28. Breakfast for Dinner

NEW PLAN: Bobotie (South African Dish), Yellow Rice and Green Beans

29. Chana aur Sarson ka Saag Biryani

30.L: Picnic in the park w/ the kids

D: Shakshuka, a Middle Eastern Egg Dish served with bread and Fruit Salad

31.Grilled Chicken Breasts with Yellow Tomato Curry Sauce and Thai Ratatouille

Leave a Reply

