Piano Music & Sweet Potato Muffins

Tomorrow afternoon, my piano students are coming over for an end-of-year gathering at my home. After nearly 25 years of teaching piano, I have discovered that offering students a variety of  opportunities to share their talents is best. Some years, we perform at assisted living communities; sharing our talents with residents, who are delighted to have us visit. Other times, we perform a more traditional recital in churches or other recital venues.

This year, we will perform for one  another at a “Students’ Symposium.” Casual and informal, yet effective in easing the students into public performances. It’s a time where we can work together on the art  of performaning: how to bow,  introduce a piece,  graciously accept applause, and overcome performance anxiety. The more you perform and share your talents, the easier it becomes. Taking the first step is the hardest.

After they perform, I plan on serving treats and goodies. All week, I have wondered what I could serve. I have a few things in mind. Yet, I kept wondering what to do with one particular ingredient I had on hand. Sweet potato soup. Yes, you read that correctly!

Every now and again, I find some great deals on organic products at our local Grocery Outlet, specifically a brand of organic soups. Often, I will purchase these and use them as a base in soups, pasta sauces, curries, as well as in risottos or creamy polenta. (Creamy Pumpkin Soup is wonderful in either Pumpkin Risotto or Pumpkin Polenta. YUM!)

However, I was perplexed in figuring out what to do with a carton of Imagine’s Creamy Sweet Potato Soup.  After some brainstorming and reviewing several muffin recipes, I created a recipe for Sweet Potato Muffins. They turned out moist and delicious. Even my non-cake-eating-son ate two of them. Definitely will be making this recipe again!

It’s a typical muffin batter. However, as soon as the muffins came out of the oven, I brushed them with butter; then, sprinkled each with cinnamon and sugar.  Another little something I do is to spray muffins tins with baking spray and sprinkle the bottom of the tins with the cinnamon sugar mixture. Every bite has a little something sweet.  YUM!

The next time I make these, I am going to frost half of the batch with a cream cheese frosting. As well, I am going to play around with using agave nectar or honey in place of the sugar. Maybe adding in some ground flax seed, too. Anyway I can sneak in healthy ingredients, I will. Actually, grated carrots and shredded coconut would be wonderful in these, too. So many variations!

Sweet Potato Muffins

  • 3/4 cup of oil (coconut oil, olive oil or 1 cup of butter)
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 cups of Creamy Sweet Potato Soup
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 350F. Grease your muffin tins and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar mixture. Combine all dry ingredients. Add oil, sweet potato soup and vanilla. Add eggs one at a time, mixing after each. Pour batter into muffin tins. I used a 1/4 measuring cup, which I sprayed with baking spray. Bake 25-30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the muffin comes out clean. As soon as the muffins come out of the oven, brush with melted butter and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar. Yield: 24 muffins

Leave a Reply

