Menu Plan Monday: A Month of Meals

These last few weeks have been crazy-busy. I haven’t even been grocery shopping in a couple of weeks. Would you believe, I ran out of coffee creamer?! Oh, yes, “Miss Coffee Snob” has no coffee creamer of any sort in her house. Well, other than the dried kind, which I use to make hot chocolate mix. However, I don’t really like that in my coffee. And the “Almond” milk that we use in cereal just isn’t the same as half ‘n half or heavy whipping cream. Most definitely, a trip to the market is in order for tomorrow.

Usually, I menu plan for a week at a time. However, I decided I would try monthly menu planning. Being the “foodie” and “organizational nerd” that I am, I have a nicely stocked pantry and freezer, due to purchasing a portion of a cow and a half of a hog. Therefore, we are going to take advantage of both.  In these next few weeks, I am hoping to only purchase produce and dairy items.

It wasn’t that hard or time consuming to plan a month of menus. In my “Household Notebook,” I have a list of all the items in my pantry and freezer. Starting with that information, I listed family favorites, along with using a few websites to gather new recipes to try.

Although I have a month of recipes, it’s just a plan. Just having the plan takes a lot of mental anguish off of me during the day. I give myself the freedom to deviate from the plan. Yet, it’s nice to have one, especially on crazy-busy days.  Usually, breakfast is on-your-own (cereal, toast, oatmeal, fruit, etc.) Most often, lunch is leftovers or salad/sandwiches. Dinner is the meal I plan to cook. However, there are exceptions here and there.

Here’s what I came up with:

April

10. Spaghetti and Homemade Bolognese Sauce with Salad

11. Squash, Chickpea and Lentil Stew

Menu change: Leftovers from Sunday. Making the stew tomorrow, though, for quick lunches during the week.

12. Beef Tacos, Refried Beans (pressure cooker) & Rice

13. Leftovers/Pack Dinner (Carrots, Jicama, Apples, Crackers and PB)

14. Crockpot: Split Pea Soup, Crackers and Fruit

15. Dad’s Dinner Delight (Mom’s in Class)

16. Crock Pot: Tortilla Soup and Cornbread

Menu Change: Chicken Meatballs, Orzo and Spinach Salad and Cesar Salad

17. SD. Crock Pot Roast and Veggies, Green Beans and Mixed Berry Crumble

Menu Change: Home Fries andTuna/Salmon Croquettes

18.  Dinner: Crock Pot Roast and Veggies, Green Beans and Mixed Berry Crumble

19. Turkey Cutlets, Buttered Parmesan Noodles, Roasted Broccoli

20. Greek Orzo Salad , Chickpea Burgers, Veggie & Fruit Tray

21. Crockpot: Lentil Chili

22. Good Friday-Chopped Greek Salad w/ Pita, Grilled Chicken and Apple Slices

23. Saturday Easter Service: Pack Sandwiches, Veggie and Fruit

24. Easter Sunday: Tortellini w/ Butternut Squash & Crab Sauce, Sauteed Veggies and Salad

25. L: Tostatos, Black Beans (pressure cooker), Spanish Rice

D: Parent’s DATE: Out-to-eat??? Terra Cotta Red???

26. Breakfast for Dinner: Bacon, Eggs and Just As Good As Popeye’s Biscuits

27. Picnic Dinner

28. Crock pot: African Inspired Peanut Soup

29. Garlic Roasted Pork Loin, Pumpkin Polenta, Sauteed Garlic Green Beans

30. Biscuits and Egg Gravy

2 responses to “Menu Plan Monday: A Month of Meals

  1. Wow, a month of meals is impressive. Well done! But, as you say, it’s just a plan. We’re a bit the same. If something comes up, you need to adapt! Tortellini w/ Butternut Squash & Crab Sauce sounds devine! 🙂

  2. Hi There,

    I have a linky on my blog Ask Ms Recipe
    for any food related posts available on Tuesdays for any food related posts. Be sure to add you link so I can visit you back.

    Thanks,
    Nina

Leave a Reply

