Menu Plan Monday: Feb. 28-March 6

Many things are happening this week; specifically, it’s birthday week for the Princess. Party plans are underway. On Friday, we have a dear friend flying in from Denver to celebrate the occasion, as well as attend church with us on Sunday. Looking forward to seeing him!  Then, the usual ebb and flow of life continues. All of this to say, menu plans are pretty simple this week. Nothing fancy, pretty much go-to meals that will make everyone happy, especially the chef!

 

 

Monday: Spaghetti w/ Meat Sauce and Green Salad

*Edited: Menu Change Monday: Instead of spaghetti, we’re have tortellini. Cheese Tortellini w/ Butternut Squash Sauce & Shrimp, Roasted Broccoli with Pine Nuts and Iced Tea.  This was my (almost) 6-year old daughter’s choice. We rolled with it! 🙂

Nothing fancy about spaghetti, but it’s so delicious and easy to prepare. Plus, it’s always a winner with my kiddos, too.


Tuesday: Southern Style Beans with Cornbread

When I think of home, this is the meal that “takes me back” to my Momma’s kitchen. A big ole pot of beans simmering nearly all day long on the stove (or crock pot), with the perfect blend of spices and seasonings. Don’t forget the smoked ham hock! And you can’t have a pot of beans with out cornbread. Just wouldn’t be right! 🙂 Shake on some Tabasco hot sauce and enjoy!


Wednesday: Leftovers


Thursday: Pizza and Veggie Plate

March 3rd is my daughter’s 6th birthday, so we’ll order pizza! Her favorite! As well, I like to have go-to meals on Thursdays, since I teach most of the day. This will be a quick meal with easy clean up, too! Win-Win!


Friday: Crock Pot Roast w/veggies, Quinoa and Green Beans

This is my husband’s favorite dinner, hands down. Repeatedly, he has told me how much he loves the taste of the veggies (carrots, onions, potatoes) after they have soaked up all the ‘goodness’ from the meat and seasonings. This Friday, the kids have learning co-ops in the morning and afternoon. So, I like to have a meal that is easy to prepare and will be ready when we walk in the door from a long day. Just throw everything into the crock pot, season and cook all day long. Your house will smell heavenly! Serve with steamed quinoa and sauteed green beans. YUM!


Saturday: Breakfast for Dinner: Pancakes, Sausage Links and Fruit Tray

After the birthday party, my husband is in charge of dinner! (Thanks, Jon) I am off for last minute preparations for Sunday. Plus, we always make extra pancakes, so the kids can have snacks, or extras for the next day. This is, especially, nice on Sunday mornings in our home.


Sunday: Jambalaya, Salad and Rolls

Since our friend will be here from Denver, I am going to make him “Jambalaya,” as I am sure he hasn’t had it since the last time he was here. 🙂 I love preparing Cajun and Southern meals with friends, and sharing with them the cuisine from where I grew up. There are always leftovers when I make this meal. So dinner for tomorrow (or lunches during the week) will be covered! Always a good thing!

One response to “Menu Plan Monday: Feb. 28-March 6

Leave a Reply

