The Gabby Moms: Mission #2

Have you ever had a moment in your life where you were pondering a verse in the Bible, praying through a situation in your life, and almost immediately received confirmation that you are headed in the right direction?  This, actually, happened to me last week.

 

I was reading, meditating and praying over the scripture from 2 Corinthians 10:5:

 

“We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.

 

If truth be told, most issues we face in our lives begin in our minds. (Or, I should say, this is the case for me.) Maybe we are comparing ourselves to others, coveting, or caught up in a cycle of negative or wrong thinking about homemaking, parenting, marriage, or some other situation or circumstance.

 

Last week, I was breaking a cycle of negative thinking by “taking every thought captive,” when I opened my inbox to find the weekly newsletter, “Encouraging Moments,”  from Eternal Encouragement (formerly TEACH magazine).

 

Can you even imagine what I began reading?

 

Mrs. Lorrie Flem writes,

 

“Spiritual strongholds are sinful ways of thinking that have probably been part of our personality for so long we hardly even see them. Maybe they’re wrong ways of thinking about the opposite sex, about depressing feelings in your life, or about a relationship with someone who’s hurt you, maybe it’s lust, or depression, or bitterness, or self-pity. But God declares, “We can take captive every one of those wrong thoughts to the obedience of Christ.”


That, my friends, was no coincidence. Actually, I don’t believe in coincidences. Everything is for a reason and a purpose. And this confirmation served its purpose in my life, for sure.

As I read through the newsletter, I found many other interesting features, such as tips on budgeting, saving money, parenting and marriage relationships. However, one that really caught my attention was  “Chick Flicks For Mom,” which are short video clips to encourage moms.

 

 

Already, I have watched several of these and gained some insights, specifically in dealing with the dreaded “whining” of my precious little girl.

Ironically, reviewing the newsletter was mission #2 for The Gabby Moms. It’s pretty cool how this week’s newsletter was specific to me, and spoke to me personally.

 

Would you like to be encouraged like I was?


If so, head on over to the homepage www.HomemakingWithTEACH.com.  Sign up today, so you can enjoy Encouraging Moments!

 

“I am reviewing Encouraging Moments as an official member of The Gabby Moms blogging program for Eternal Encouragement magazine.  I did not receive compensation for this post and all opinions are solely my own.”





18 responses to “The Gabby Moms: Mission #2

  1. It’s amazing how the Lord works in our lives. So glad that this was the perfect set of articles for you to read!

    Julieanne
    http://www.JoyInOurJourney.com

  2. I’m always amazed at how the Lord uses things like newsletters and conversations to really get me to pay attention to His plan.

  3. I totally felt the same way about that statement from Lorrie! HUGE- Life altering! Nice job with your review! Personal, relatable and effective!

    MacKenzie
    Head Mama

  4. You talk about something that keeps coming up, and it happened for me, here on your review! Over the last four days God keeps reminding me not to compare myself to others, and there you mentioned it in your list. Ah.

    Thanks for your review!
    Jenny, another Gabby Mom
    http://www.manyhatsmommy.blogspot.com

  5. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. Loved this review… you made it so personal!

    ~H
    fellow gabby mom

  6. Thanks for coming by Telln’ It~ Thanks for a great review also of Encouraging Moments~Have a beautiful day!! HUGS!

  7. I need to let go of some old ways of thinking myself. This newsletter spoke to me first in another way, but this is also something I need to work on 🙂 Great review!

  8. Thanks for popping in on my blog. Looks like we BOTH got something good out of the recent newsletters! 🙂

  9. God has been convicting me lately of thoughts as well! So glad to see I am not alone!

  10. I always find it encouraging to have what I am thinking supported by God. It’s almost like I get an email from God!
    Carie (another Gabby Mom)

  11. What a wonderful BIG God we serve. He cares about all the details of our lives. I am honored He used Eternal Moments for you.

    Love,
    Lorrie

  12. Very nice review. It is great when we get confirmation on things like this, isn’t it?

    Blessings,
    Mrs. Q

  13. Can only be a GOD thing, so true indeed!
    fellow Gabby Mom

  14. God definatley knows the secrect places of our hearts, and when we are listening He will speak right to us about the things we need to change.

    Great review.
    fellow GM stoppin by

  15. Wonderful review! I’ve enjoyed stopping by your blog.

    Tina
    Gabby mom sis

  16. I love when God-things happen 🙂 Thanks for visiting my blog! I’m now following you on Networked blogs.

  17. Great review.. and now I know where to look for help with some menu planning.. love your blog!! :O)

    Following you back from http://www.themisadventuresofafamilyof8.blogspot.com

  18. I love how the Lord teaches me. Like every sermon, artical, newsletter is just what I need to hear! Great review! Thanks for visiting and commenting on my blog!

Leave a Reply

