Menu Plan Monday: Feb. 21-Feb. 27

Since most of my family was not feeling well last week, the “Menu Plan” was pretty much thrown out the window. Other than Friday, when we had friends over and everyone was feeling better, I didn’t even cook. We ate a lot of frozen or canned soup. I was thankful to have several varieties of soup in the freezer. Yet, I missed cooking for my family. Cooking is not only my creative outlet, but it’s how I show love, too. Looking forward to “creating” this week.

Monday: Baked Curry Chicken, Home Fries, and Green Beans

(This is a re-do of a childhood favorite. Once a week, my mom would bake chicken drumsticks. Usually, she’d serve it with “Home Fries,” which is thinly sliced potatoes and onions cooked in a cast iron skillet. I am going to use sweet potatoes and red-skinned potatoes, along with some rosemary and thyme. A simple, but very satisfying lunch/dinner. )


Tuesday: Molasses Coffee Marinated Pork Chops, Pumpkin Polenta and English Peas.

(I have made the “Pumpkin Polenta,” which we enjoy, with another pork chop recipe. However, this pork chop recipe caught my eye, and made my taste buds water! Instead of grilling, I’ll be baking the pork chops.)


Wednesday: Leftovers


Thursday: Lasagna with Green Salad

(Music teaching day, so my classic stand by of frozen lasagna is on the menu. The kids love it and it makes my life a whole lot easier, since I teach music lessons the majority of the day on Thursdays.)


Friday: Salmon Burgers served on Onion Rolls, Sweet Potato Fries, Fruit Platter

(My kids have been requesting this meal for a while. Since I made the Costco run today, I picked up salmon patties. Sometimes, I make a spicy, caper mayonnaise for the burgers. Although, I am using frozen fries, they are still tasty. We like to spray them with olive oil and sprinkle with chili powder.)


Saturday: Tilapia w/ Sun-dried Tomatoes & Capers Cream Sauce, Roasted Garlic Couscous, Sauteed Sugar Snap Peas

(My husband requested tilapia this week. So, I am trying to create a new recipe for this type of fish. Will let you know how it turns out. Jon, also, loves roasted garlic, which I am going to use in the couscous, along with some toasted pine nuts.)


Sunday: Chicken and Sausage Gumbo, Rice and Crackers

(We are having friends over for lunch after church. I am going to pre-make the gumbo roux and throw everything into the crock pot before church. This is an easy way to make gumbo. I love my crock pot.)

Leave a Reply

