Just As Good As Popeye’s Biscuits

Although, I usually eat (and feed my family) a variety of fruits, veggies, lean proteins and whole grains, I do splurge from time to time. You see, I grew up in North Louisiana. This country girl LOVES food. Loves to eat. Loves Cajun food. Loves Southern-style home cookin’. And, I love bread, especially biscuits and cornbread. Although I don’t make them often, I am a happy girl when I do! My family enjoys it, too!

There is a restaurant chain called “Popeye’s.” It started out in Louisiana and has spread all around the world. In high school, I remember frequenting this eating establishment often! The franchise in Natchitoches, LA was a well-loved eatery for me and my friends. They have amazing Cajun Fried Chicken, Red Beans and Rice, Dirty Rice, Cajun French Fries and Biscuits. BISCUITS!

Oh. The. Biscuits.

Light. Fluffy. Buttery.

Totally, not something one could eat everyday. However,  I was craving them tonight. Not to mention, “Biscuits and Gravy” was on the menu plan for this evening. So, what’s a girl to do, but make a version of “Popeye’s” Biscuits!? 🙂

I looked and looked online for a recipe to no avail. I just couldn’t find one I liked. So, I took “this” from here, “that” from there, and added a few things on my own, coming up with a good tasting biscuit, which was light and fluffy and buttery! YUM!

Just As Good As Popeye’s Biscuits

  • 2 cups of white flour **
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • 1/4 cup of nonfat dry milk
  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • 1/2 cup of sour cream
  • 1 cup of sparkling water, Sprite, 7-up, etc. (Basically, any clear soda. The bubbles make the biscuits!)y of 

**I’ve had success using a variety of types of flours: white, whole wheat, and whole wheat bread and/or pastry flour. Use what you have on hand. 

Directions:

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Put a bit of oil into cast iron skillet. Allow skillet to get hot, as oven is preheating. In a bowl, mix all dry ingredients. Cut in the butter with a pastry blender. Add sour cream and sparkling water/soda, stirring to combine. Turn out onto a floured surface, and knead (not too much, or they’ll be tough) This dough is sticky, so incorporate a bit more flour, if necessary. Pat or roll dough out to 1 inch thick. Cut biscuits to desired size. (Honestly, I used a kids’ cup from “Olive Garden,” which was a good size for us.) Place in hot cast iron skillet. Bake for 15 minutes, or until golden brown.


The entire family gave this new biscuit recipe “thumbs-up.” Although, I’ll only make it every once in a while, it’s a splurge that was totally worth it! Definitely try this one!

2 responses to “Just As Good As Popeye’s Biscuits

  1. Laura Rogers

    These were awesome!! I grew up with lots of fresh biscuits made by my Southern grandmother. She would have loved these.

  2. I’m totally trying these tomorrow. =)

Leave a Reply

