Southwest Chicken Soup

Yesterday, I threw a chicken into the crock pot with seasonings and some water. It slow cooked all day, creating an amazing aroma in my house. By the time it was done, I had broth for a big, ole pot of soup and enough meat for two, if not three, meals.

This morning, I woke up wondering what to make for dinner. I had my Menu Plan, but I needed to use the chicken, which I cooked the day before. Decisions. Decisions. What should I do? What should I make?

Well, I let my cravings for Tex-Mex direct. You see, I am from Louisiana and I love me some Tex-Mex food. Seriously, I do. During my senior year of college, you could find me and a group of friends at a local Tex-Mex restaurant most every Friday. Oh. How. I. Miss. It.

So, anyways, on to my cravings for Tex-Mex food. You see, it led me to throw a bit of this, and a bit of that into a stock pot. Before I knew it, this is what I created.

 

 

 

 

Southwest Chicken Soup


2 cups of onions, diced

2 t of olive oil

10 cups of chicken broth**

3 cans of cream style corn

1 can of hominy, yellow or white

3 medium roasted bell peppers, chopped

1 can of diced tomatoes (Ro-tel would be great!)

2 t. of red pepper flakes (Next time, I’ll be using “hatch-roasted chiles.”)

Salt and pepper, to taste

2 t. of Mexican oregano

1 T of cumin

2 cups of cooked chicken

Toppings: sour cream, cilantro, baked tortilla strips, and cheese

**I slow-cooked a chicken yesterday, so had homemade broth, and pre-cooked chicken. Use what you have, though.  As well, if you have pre-cooked chicken strips, toss them in. Bet they’ll taste great!

Directions:

Saute the onions in olive oil, until just beginning to caramelize. Add chicken broth, corn/hominy, roasted peppers, tomatoes and seasonings. Bring to a boil. Cover and turn heat down. Simmer for 30. Add cooked chicken. Simmer for another 15-20 minutes. Ladle into bowls. Garnish with toppings. Enjoy!


One response to “Southwest Chicken Soup

  1. So, tell me your recipe for a great Tex-Mex “chili gravy” that’s poured over beef enchiladas in the best Tex-Mex joints. Been looking for years, still no luck. The canned enchilada sauce, like Old El Paso, is terrible…

Leave a Reply

