Menu Plan Monday: January 17-January 23

Hey Everyone! How was your weekend? We had a great one, especially since my husband is back home! I had class this weekend, but the kids got a lot of “Daddy Time.” They even baked up a storm, baking sugar cookies and a cake.

Then, after church on Sunday, we had friends over for lunch. The night before, I made “Cabbage Patch Soup.” (Well, my version of it!)  I made it the night before to allow it time to sit and really soak up all the goodness! 🙂 Our friends brought chocolate chip cookies to share. (Which were amazing!)

Often, we will have folks over after church, or sometime in the early evening, on Sundays. Usually, we serve something really simple like soup, frozen lasagna or one of my Cajun recipes (Jambalaya or Gumbo). However, we try to make it more about getting to know the folks we have invited over, especially since we are still getting to know folks in our church. There is always time for fancy and formal. However, for us, Sundays after church, just isn’t the time!

This week, we have a lot going on. Sort of getting back into a groove since my husband is back home and we are sort of hitting the ground running. For that reason, most of the meals we are having are super-easy, quickly prepared, and taste good reheated.

So, what are we eating this week?

Monday: Chicken Tacos, Ranch Style Beans, Corn and a “Monkey Plate”

(When my kids were preschoolers, we were introducing them to various vegetables and fruits. One day, they asked what I was making for snack. When I said, “A veggie tray,” they weren’t to thrilled. So, I re-named it to “Monkey Tray” and asked my “monkeys” to come help me prepare the veggies. Almost immediately, they were excited.  The name stuck and here we are several years later. We cut up bell peppers, carrots, broccoli, cauliflower, jicama and sugar snap beans. For dips, we prefer home made hummus and ranch dressing.)


Tuesday: Surprise Soup

(I can’t share a recipe because this soup recipe is never the same. You see, I just use whatever veggies I have on hand, or have leftover from another meal. Usually, I add some sort of meat,  beans, lentils or quinoa for protein.  Into the slow cooker it goes, along with broth, seasonings and spices. That’s it!)


Wednesday: Leftovers


Thursday: Lasagna and Salad

(Nope, I don’t make homemade lasagna. It’s frozen all the way. I teach piano and voice lessons/classes. Thursdays are my longest teaching day. Simple suppers are my friend.  Usually, it’s something in the crock pot, a freezer meal, even take-out pizza. These shortcuts work for our family. Find out what works for yours! :))


Friday: Jambalaya, Southern Style Green Beans and Cornbread.

(Our family is taking dinner to a family in our church, so I am making a double batch of this meal. Jambalaya is really easy to make. If you haven’t tried to make it, check out my recipe HERE.)


Saturday: Chicken with Capers and Sun-Dried Tomato Sauce, Dijon Roasted Potatoes, Spinach Salad

(Using other recipes as inspiration, I am putting my own twist on this menu. Hopefully, the family approves.)


Sunday: “Cooking with the Kids” Pumpkin and Black Bean Soup, Pumpkin Drop Biscuits w/ Citrus Honey Butter

(I’ll be cooking with Jamison on Sunday. We are cooking our way through The Essential New York Times Cookbook. Today, she chose the “Pumpkin and Black Bean Soup.” I am looking forward to this.

 

What are you eating this week? Trying anything new? Please share.

 


Leave a Reply

