Booking It 2011


It’s time to share my “Booking It 2011″ list with you. Although I am sure I will be adding books to my list this year, this list will give me a good start. I have always loved to read.

As a little girl, I remember riding my back about 100 yards from my house to our little one-roomed library in my hometown of Ashland, LA. I remember checking out many books at one time. Well, as many as would fit into my bike’s basket.

Sure, life gets hectic, but I have always tried tried to find time to read. Sometimes, reading is required for classes or work. Other times, it is for pleasure or pertaining to an interesting topic (most often cooking, or something food-related). Regardless, I have begun to be diligent to allow at least 30 minutes of my day to reading, in addition to my daily Bible reading. I have found it is really good for me and worth the effort.

Food.

The Essential New York Times Cookbook by Amanda Hesser

King Arthur Flour Whole Grain Baking published by Countryman Press

Not Your Mother’s Slow Cooker Cookbook by Beth Hensperger and Julie Kaufman

Fun.

Mansfield Park by Jane Austen

The Help by Kathryn Stockett (finished this, but still discussing with my local book club friends)

Cane River by Lalita Tademy (I am from Louisiana, and grew up attending many events along the Cane River. Although this is a work of fiction, it brings back memories of home.)

Acedia & Me by Kathleen Norris (I wouldn’t say this is a ‘fun’ book. However, it’s in this section! :))

The Traveler’s Gift by Andy Andrews

Family.

Mission of M0therhood by Sally Clakrkson

Ministry of Motherhood by Sally Clarkson

Seasons of a Mother’s Heart by Sally Clarkson

Martha Stewart’s Homekeeping Handbook: The Essential Guide to Caring for Everything in Your Home by Martha Stewart. My mother-in-law gave this to me a few years ago. I enjoy it and intend to use it more this year, referring to it more often. It is packed with many great ideas!

Organized Simplicity: The Clutter-Free Approach to Intentional Living by Tsh Oxenreider

Faith.

Grace, Faith and Holiness (Wesleyan Systematic Theology book)

Radical by David Platt: Our staff is reading this book.

Gifted to Lead by Nancy Beach

Pure Pleasure by Gary Thomas

The Confessions of Saint Augustine by Saint Augustine. Truthfully, it will take me longer than a year to complete this book. I know myself, and know how I desire to take this book in. You can download it for free at Amazon! 🙂

Daily Bible Reading: I am using a bible reading plan, which a friend suggested. You can find it HERE. It’s called the “Read Through the Bible Program for Shirkers and Slackers” Sometimes, dates and lists stress me out. Actually, not being able to check off each day, or not reading ALL I was supposed to do on any given day, due to life happening, etc. This plan gives you FREEDOM. And, I like how it is set up. Let me know if you decide to use it, too!

So, what are you reading this year? Have you joined “Booking It 2011”?

One response to “Booking It 2011

  1. I have Radical on my list to read this year too. I’m looking forward to it…I also read The Help and loved it. Here’s my complete list: http://morethanmundane.wordpress.com/2011/01/12/booking-it-in-2011/

Leave a Reply

