Cooking with the Kids: “Malcom and Kelley McDowell’s Pink Rigatoni

“Cooking with this Kids” is a new weekly blog post here at Food. Fun. Family. Each week one of my children will select a recipe to cook, along with me, and we will post pictures and reviews of the final product. Currently, we are selecting recipes from The Essential New York Times Cookbook by Amanda Hesser.

This week my daughter, Jamison, was the “chef.” She selected “Malcom and Kelley McDowell’s Pink Rigatoni.” (The link will take you to the recipe.) Can you imagine why a 5-year old little girl would select “pink” pasta? 🙂

The original recipe called for  plum tomatoes, but said canned could be used, which is what we did. At this time of the year, it’s my opinion that canned tomatoes taste better than the tasteless “fresh” tomatoes at the market. I’ll make it with fresh tomatoes during tomato season.

As well, it called for freshly grated Parmesan cheese. On hand, I had finely shredded Parmesan cheese. Being a “solo” parent this week, not to mention being hungry, we opted to use what we had; it was fine! 🙂
Jamison said she had a lot of fun helping make the dish. She had the most fun helping to press the garlic.

Both the kids enjoyed the pasta the day we made it. However, next time, I think I’ll use a bit less garlic. When I tried to serve them leftovers, it was much stronger than on Day 1. 🙂

Another quick note: the original recipe stated it made four servings. However, a pound of pasta is a lot of pasta. Personally, I think this recipe will feed 6-8 people very generous servings.

Next week, it’s Jadon’s turn. What will it be? Pasta? Beef? Chicken? Soup? Dessert? Who knows.

He’s not even telling me, right now! We’ll find out next Sunday!

Leave a Reply

