Recipe Wednesday: Coleslaw with a Kick

Today, I am sharing a new recipe with you. On New Year’s Eve, we spent the evening with some family friends and our food theme was BBQ!

Now, it might not be summertime, but I can eat BBQ anytime of the year. I was asked to bring side dishes, so I put together a coleslaw recipe. I must say my dad’s coleslaw recipe was my inspiration. However, I looked at about 50 coleslaw recipes, taking this idea from one, that ingredient from the other. Finally, I settled on ingredients and such, creating a new recipe.

If truth be told, I wasn’t sure how everyone would like it. Coleslaw is not everyone’s favorite dish, ya know? Not even mine. Even I liked this one. My daughter did, too. (SHOCKER!)

For this event, I used the Creamy Dressing, but have made the Vinaigrette before, serving it with the slaw and sliced, grilled chicken on top.  As always, adjust the seasonings to suit your tastes. In my kitchen, recipes are guides, not rules.

Coleslaw with a Kick

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium head cabbage, shredded
  • 1 large red onion, thinly sliced 
  • 1 cup grated carrots
  • 1 apple, shredded
  • 1/2 cup of cilantro, chopped
  • 1/2 cup of almonds, slivered
  • 1/4 cup of craisins
  • Toasted sesame seeds to sprinkle on top. 

Creamy Dressing

  • 1/2 cup of plain yogurt and 1/2 cup mayo OR 1 cup of mayo
  • 3 T honey 
  • 1 t salt
  • 1 T dry mustard
  • Black pepper to taste
  • 2-3 T apple cider vinegar (or rice wine vinegar) to thin dressing

Vinaigrette

  • 1/2 cup of rice wine vinegar
  • 3 T of honey
  • 6 T of olive oil
  • 2 1/2 t of dry mustard
  • 1 t of sesame oil
  • 1 T of Sesame seeds
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions: In a large bowl, combine cabbage, onion, carrots, apple, celery, cilantro almonds and craisins.  Decide which dressing you’d like to use–Creamy or Vinaigrette. In a small jar combine dressing ingredients. Put on lid and shake vigorously. (Or, you may choose to use an immersion blender to combine the ingredients. Either is fine.)  Pour dressing over the slaw, combine thoroughly. Top with sesame seeds. This coleslaw can be served as a side dish, and is especially nice with BBQ. Or try serving the slaw and vinaigrette dressing with sliced, grilled chicken on top for a main dish.

 

Leave a Reply

