Home School Happenings

Where do you teach your kids? Do you have a school room? If so, what does it look like? What do you teach your kids? What curriculum do you use? How do you home school AND work? You and your husband are BOTH pastors? Does your husband help home school? Do you enjoy home schooling? How did you decide to home school? Did you always know you would home school? Will you always home school? How much time does it take? Do you ever have time to yourself? Do you have friends? Do your kids have friends? Do you take field trips? Do you give your kids tests? How do you know they are learning?

All of these questions, and many others, have been asked of me (and my husband) in the last year, or so. Honestly, I have answered some of them, and not answered others.  At times, I have changed the subject, or answered a question with a question.  Sometimes, I don’t know how to answer the question, or even respond.

You see, occasionally, home schooling can be a “hot topic.”

Not to mention the fact that I don’t really “fit” into the traditional home schooling world, or the stay-at-home-mom world, or the working mom world. I am not one or the other, but a combination of all three.

Most of my life, I have felt like the “square peg, which doesn’t fit into the round hole.” Uh, yep, pretty much, that’s still the case. However, what has changed is I am (mostly) okay with it. 🙂

Some say there is “one way” to do things. However, in my life, I have come to realize, as my Daddy always said,

“There is more than one way to skin a cat.”

Or, there are a multitude of ways to solve a single problem. Guess that’s what I get for being a “trailblazer,” as one friend in Denver described me, as well as a “creative, outside-of-the-box” thinker.

Although I can’t, or won’t, or don’t answer all the questions asked of me about home schooling, or working, or parenting, the one thing I do know, and can say without hesitation:

I couldn’t do any of what I do without my amazing husband, Jon, who challenges me to be all that God created me to be as a child of God, wife, mother, friend, etc.

You see,  Jon gets me, encourages me, and challenges me to be, well, JUST ME!  A non-conformist. A “square peg”, who hasn’t, nor ever will fit into the “round hole.”

Around the blog world, some home schooling families post a “Weekly Round-Up” of their home schooling adventures. I love reading their summaries of their week, looking at the pictures of what their kids have created, or where they have been. I have to be careful not to play the “comparison game.” I know my limits, as well as my strengths (and weaknesses).

Honestly, I am not going to commit to such an endeavor of a weekly posting. You see, if I make a goal and don’t complete it, it’s bad. Really bad. However, from time to time, I’ll share with you a glimpse into our world of home schooling, through a random blog post called Home School Happenings.

Occasionally, I’ll answer some of the questions I have been asked. Other times, I’ll give a summary of what we are doing, what the kids are learning, or experiencing. Maybe even post a few pictures. Sometimes, I might even share a review of a book or product related to home schooling. And I am sure, I’ll write about the various “hats” I wear.

What I won’t do is try to convince you that you should be home schooling because I think it’s the only way to educate your children.

Because I don’t. I, honestly, believe God speaks to all of his children in unique and individual ways at various times and seasons in our lives. What he is calling me and my family to do,might not be what he is calling you and your family to do. In fact, this might only be a “season” for our family.

You see, I sort of see life as a marathon with various “legs” of the journey. Right now, this is the path we are running. Next year, or next month, it might be very different. For the time being, though, I am pursuing this journey with passion, and whole-heartidly committing myself to educating my kids in this fashion.

Saying “Yes” to God in what I believe he has called me to do. And praying daily for guidance, assurance and encouragement to “finish well.”

One response to “Home School Happenings

  1. Came here from Blog Frog and really enjoyed this post. I too identify as a creative, out of the box thinker. It’s a necessity for homeschooling my son! Looking forward to learning more about you.

Leave a Reply

