Our Thanksgiving Menu 2010

As a Southern Girl, I love food. And not just any food–GOOD FOOD. Healthy, decadent, simple or fancy. I just like food. Where I grew up in North Louisiana, holidays and special occasions,  along with life in general revolved around food.

I have fond memories of church fellowship meals, enjoying Mr. Bob’s Creole Gumbo; my neighbor’s, Mr. Lloyd Foster, Fried Catfish (What made this catfish so special? Mustard. Plain, ole mustard.); Mrs. Dorothy Guin’s Homemade Tea Cakes, which were the absolute best! And, how can I forget, Mr. Mark’s Duck Gumbo, and Mrs. Janet’s Crawfish Fettucini and Chicken n’ Dumplins? Oh my! YUMMY!

As my husband and I were talking the other day,  I said, “I am just not crafty or creative.” While some of my friends like to craft, sew, or quilt and gather the necessary supplies for these creative endeavors, I am creatively challenged in these areas.

Seriously, my granny is an amazing artist, my mom is an incredible seamstress. However,  if truth be told, I didn’t get any of those talents. In fact, I still have a sewing machine, my mom gave me on Thanksgiving 2001, which is still in its case. Untouched. Yes, I am serious. Maybe that will change this Thanksgiving. Maybe.

Instead of collecting fabric, paints, and sewing notions, I collect food items, appliances/tools, ingredients and seasonings. This is my creative outlet; my craft, if you will.Taking various foods and such to create art on a plate, or taste bud teasers.

My love for food began at a young age. I was always in the kitchen when my mom or grandma was cooking. I am so thankful for having had the opportunity to learn to cook simple, tasty food with amazing ingredients. Most of which came from our garden or farm.

Recipes passed down from generation to generation tell stories of another time. I can still picture my MawMaw making biscuits, my mom canning vegetables and jellies, and my dad making his traditional Sunday morning pancakes.

Now, I use some of the old recipes that I first learned way back when. As well, I tend to be rather adventurous in the kitchen, trying new ingredients, seasonings, and recipes from all over the world.

Our family’s Thanksgiving menus change from year to year, depending upon where we are celebrating the occasion and who, and how many, will be attending. While the basics stay the same–turkey, mashed potatoes and vegetables–creative liberties are taken in the preparation!

Thanksgiving Dinner 2010

Raspberry-Cranberry Salad

Roast Turkey

(Injected with Cajun Seasoned Butter, coated with a Cajun Spice Rub. Oh, baby, this is gonna be tasty!)

Momma’s Amazing Cornbread Dressing

Mashed Potatoes

(Totally using REAL cream on Thanksgiving Day!)

Sweet Potato Casserole

Green Beans with Caramelized Onions and Bacon

Cajun Corn Maque Choux

Caesar Salad

Homemade Rolls

Pumpkin Pie, Pecan Pie

Iced Tea, Water and Coffee


 

 

2 responses to “Our Thanksgiving Menu 2010

  1. I’d love to know how you make your pumpkin pie!

  2. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday: 11/22-11/28 « Food. Fun. Family.

Leave a Reply

