Recipe Wednesday: Cinnamon Coffee

For those of you who know me, you know that I love coffee. I mean, I really love coffee. Okay, if truth be told, my husband and I are coffee snobs. There I said it. It’s out in the open!

From a young age, I have enjoyed coffee. GASP! Yes, from a very young age. You see, when I was about four years old, my MawMaw, which is what I called my maternal grandmother, would make coffee for both of us. However, it was instant coffee (at the time I didn’t know any better) and consisted of a little coffee and a lot of sugar and milk.

As well, my dad is a pastor. As a family, we would go to church events, weddings, and funeral homes. As a young girl, I remember sneaking into the coffee room at the funeral parlor and having myself a cup of coffee. Or two. Maybe three. It was just so much fun. I felt all grown up. Little did my mom realize why I was bouncing off the walls, talking so quickly and unable to go to sleep after we got home. (Sorry, Mom!)

In college, I graduated from instant coffee to drip coffee, using such brands as Folgers, Maxwell House or the like. Finally, I really learned to enjoy the State Coffee of Louisiana, which is Community Coffee, which is quiet nice, especially the New Orleans Blend, which is coffee and chicory. YUM!

However, my husband says, until I met him, I hadn’t experienced REAL coffee. If truth be told, he is right. You see, he is a Washingtonian, having grown up in the mecca of coffee lovers, Seattle, which is home to Starbucks, Seattle’s Best, Tully’s and our most favorite coffee roaster Vista Clara Coffee, owned by our friends, Dave and Joan Stewart.

Years ago, when I first met Jon, he was not my husband, not even my boyfriend; he was my boss. Well, sort of, but that’s another story. Suffice to say, he was the person I reported to on a musical tour. We were at a rest stop in Oregon, he asked me if I’d like a latte. I was on the phone with my dad and said, “My director just asked me if I’d like a latte, what is that?”

My dad hadn’t a clue what it was. So, being the sassy-Southern girl that I am, not one to be duped, I told Jon, “Sure, I’d like a latte!” Having no idea what I had just agreed to drink or eat.

He brought me back a latte, but not just any latte—a TRIPLE SHOT LATTE!  I drank it, it was good. So good, I had a lot of energy. In fact, he said I should drink a triple shot latte every night before our concert.

Can I just say, my body would NOT. SHUT. DOWN. I was wired.

So that was my first experience with real coffee. In the years since, I really have come to be a coffee snob. I just love coffee. Drip coffee. French press coffee. Froo-froo coffee like lattes, cappuccinos, and such. I even have a traditional Costa Rican wooden coffee maker, which is called a Chorreador de café. I LOVE IT!

When I lived in Southern California, Jon flew down to visit me (he was my boyfriend by then :)). We drove up the coast to Santa Barbara, CA, one of my most favorite places in California. A friend introduced us to an Italian restaurant called Palazzio’s. The food was good, but the coffee. Oh. my. goodness. The coffee! It was delish. In the beginning, I thought I was drinking just a regular cup of freshly brewed, drip coffee, along with my Banana’s Foster dessert. (I am from Louisiana and we are all about Banana’s Foster.)

This cup of coffee was not regular at all. It had a kick. What was it? I kept trying to figure it out. Finally, I did. It was brewed with cinnamon. Yes, cinnamon. I never forgot that cup of coffee. No, I’m NOT joking. Seriously, I didn’t.

A couple of years later after Jon and I got married, we were reminiscing about our time in Santa Barbara and the Cinnamon Coffee. I had to figure out how to make it. It couldn’t be hard, but how did they do it. Turns out, it wasn’t hard to make. It’s quiet easy, in fact.

Cinnamon Coffee

All you do is add about 2-3 teaspoons of Saigon cinnamon to freshly ground coffee beans, prior to brewing. (Personally, I think this type of coffee is best brewed strong.)

After coffee has brewed, add a bit of raw sugar and some cream. Stir. Then, add a dollop of whipped cream on top, sprinkle with a mixture of raw sugar and cinnamon (just like Cinnamon Toast. YUM!)

Seriously, this is the best coffee ever! When we lived in Denver, where it rarely rained, we’d make this on the three or four days it did rain. Then, we’d declare it a “Seattle Day” and be quiet happy to sit in the pouring rain, sipping our Cinnamon Coffee! Yes, we did! Hey, we missed the rain! Thankfully, though, we still had good coffee! 🙂

So, how do you like your coffee?


One response to “Recipe Wednesday: Cinnamon Coffee

  1. Jada,
    I am going to try this…I am intrigued by the way you describe things…
    I love my coffee CREAMY…not usually sweet, but very creamy. I don’t think I could drink black coffee if I tried…silly, I know.
    I’ll let you know what I think…
    C~

Leave a Reply

