Recipe Wednesday: Chickpea Curry

Our family eats a lot of ethnic foods, especially Indian food. On Tuesday, I was to make Indian food for the book club that I attend. I knew I wanted to make a curry, but what kind? I settled on a Chickpea Curry. In the past, I have used a variety of recipes. This time, I set out to create my own.

Don’t laugh, but I purchased an enormous bag of dried chickpeas at Costco. Yes, we eat a lot of chickpeas. We like them in curry, hummus, as well as in soups and as a salad topper. My electric pressure cooker came in quiet handy. A pound of chickpeas was cooked in 55 minutes!

Chickpea Curry

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 onions, minced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 t fresh ginger root, finely chopped
  • 10 whole cloves
  • 1 Tablespoon of ground Saigon Cinnamon
  • 2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • salt
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 2 teaspoon ground turmeric
  • 1/2 teaspoon of dry mustard
  • 1/2 teaspoon of sugar
  • 2 (15 ounce) cans garbanzo/chickpeas beans, OR equivalent of dried beans, cooked. Reserving a bit of the cooking liquid.
  • 2 roma tomatoes, chopped
  • 1/4 cup of tomato paste
  • 1 cup chopped fresh cilantro

Directions:

Heat olive oil in a large pan over medium heat, and fry onions until tender, starting to caramel. (I used a medium-sized stockpot.) Stir in garlic, ginger, cloves, cinnamon, cumin, salt, cayenne, mustard, and turmeric. Cook for 1-2 minutes over medium heat, stirring constantly. Add garbanzo beans and their liquid, as well as sugar, tomatoes and tomato paste. Stir together. Bring to a simmer. You may desire to add a bit more liquid at this point. It shouldn’t really be soupy, but you don’t want it to scorch. Cover, reduce heat. Simmer for about 20 minutes.

Serve over Basmati Rice and garnish with cilantro, chutney, and/or a variety of toppings, such as chopped banana, coconut, raisins, peanuts, and plain yogurt.

2 responses to “Recipe Wednesday: Chickpea Curry

  1. That sounds so yummy. I usually buy my curry sauces from TJ’s. They’re super yummy, but can get pricey after a while. Thanks.

  2. Pingback: What's For Supper? » Chickpea Curry

Leave a Reply

