Thankful Thursday: August 5, 2010

Today, I am thankful for:

1. Friends, who allow me to be me, not some cookie-cutter person that has lost all concept of reality and doesn’t really exist.  Those friends, who I can share my heart with, learn from and travel this journey of life and all that it entails.

2. Visits from family and friends. In fact, in eight (8) days, one of my dearest friends, who is like a sister to me, and her family will be here. We are so excited to see them and to spoil her little boy the way she spoiled our kids when she lived with us for two years, while we were in Denver.

3. Seasons of life. More and more I am learning that time passes by much too quickly. Even in the difficult times, I have reason to be thankful, lessons to learn and experiences to share. My mom was right when she told me to not “wish my life away.”

A good friend of our family is the lead singer for a group called 33 Miles. A few years ago, they recorded a song called “Thank You!” I love this song. For me, a musician, music and the lyrics of specific songs, often communicate how I am feeling much better than I can. After going through a season of “being in the pit” this song was released. At certain times in our lives (at least in mine), it is easy to thank God for the good things in our lives, neglecting the impact of the more difficult times. However, looking back on the trials and struggles that I have faced, and in some cases am still enduring, I can honestly say “Thank you God for it all. The good times. The bad times. The scary times. The sad times. The painful times. All that you have allowed in my life molds me and shapes me into the person you desire for me to be and to become.”

Leave a Reply

