Recipe Wednesday: Maple-Glazed Pork Chops with Pumpkin Polenta

Well, as usual, I make a plan, only to change my mind. Although I figure out my menu plan on Monday,  occasionally during the week, I realize there is a food item that really needs to be used up ASAP! Yesterday, I realized, “Oh, these pork chops really need to be used soon!” I took out the two packages to defrost and marinated them in a steak rub with olive oil.

Last night, I shared with my husband, “Those pork chops would taste REALLY good with a sweet sauce and some creamy, savory polenta. Will have to see if I can find a recipe!” What do you know? I did. However, as usual, I didn’t follow it to the letter. At the following link, you can view the original recipe for Maple-Glazed Pork Chops with Pumpkin Polenta. Below are my changes and additions:

I didn’t have quick-cooking polenta, so I substituted quick-cooking grits and a bit of yellow corn meal, which cooked in about 20 minutes. I used a bit more pumpkin (about 1/4 cup more) and I cooked the polenta in beef broth, not chicken broth, as suggested in the recipe. Also, I didn’t have whole sage leaves, so I just used about 1t of ground sage in the polenta; it was fine!

Other than having been in a marinade for about 12 hours, I followed the pork chop recipe (for the most part). Again, I used beef broth, not chicken broth. The sauce was amazing, using Dijon mustard, balsamic vinegar and real maple syrup. Oh. my. goodness. Make sure not to overcook your pork, and don’t forget about “carry over cooking”. The continued cooking that happens as the meat is resting. For safety purposes, you can always use a meat thermometer.

In addition to the polenta and chops, I made a micro-green salad, topped with toasted pumpkin seeds and dressed with a balsamic vinegarette, which complimented the balsamic vinegar in the pork chop sauce.

My kids gave this meal “two thumbs up”! Jon said it was amazing and wants me to make it again. It was so tasty. You must try this. It is not hard. Seriously, from start to finish (gathering ingredients to sitting down to eat, it took about 45 minutes. That is being generous, too, with a few “interruptions”!)

Try this one! You will LOVE it!

(Check out http://www.goodcheapeats.com and http://www.grocerycartchallenge.com for more recipes.)

Leave a Reply

