Menu Plan Monday 5/16-5/22

Two new cookbooks are making their debut on my menu plan–The Gastrokid Cookbook: Feeding a Foodie Family in a Fast-Food World and Not Your Mother’s Slow Cooker Cookbook. The first, I picked up at the library this week. It just caught my eye as I was browsing a few selections. I can’t wait to try the Grilled Corn Salad and Picnic Shoulder of Pork Puerto Rican Style. The slow cooker cookbook was a real find. About a year ago, it was a free Kindle download. No, I don’t have a Kindle, but I do have the Kindle app on my Ipod Touch.  Can you imagine me trying to read that book, use the recipes, all by reading the pages on a 3 x 5 inch screen. Yep, me neither.

The other day, I was at our newly opened Goodwill store and found a brand new copy of Not Your Mother’s Slow Cooker Cookbook. Needless to say, I was ecstatic. (BTW, I was able to pick up an almost new copy of William Bennet’s The Book of Virtues and an NIrV Youth Bible that I needed for the kids for this coming school year, both at SWEET prices!) There are so many amazing recipes in this cook book. Best of all, it is from a whole foods perspective; forgoing the processed food ingredients of most slow cooker recipes. I can’t wait to begin the cooking journey with this cook book in hand. Come winter, it will get a lot of use, as in the summer time we grill quiet often.

Sunday

Vegetable Soup and Crackers or Pancakes

Monday

Lentil Chili (page 232 from Not Your Mother’s Slow Cooker Cookbook)

Tuesday

Breakfast for Dinner: Scrambled Eggs, Toast and Fruit.

Wednesday

Sausage with Sagey White Beans (page 64 from The Gastrokids Cookbook) with Herbed Quinoa.

Thursday

Leftovers

Friday

Homemade Pizza and Salad

Saturday

Morocan Chicken Thighs with Chickpeas and Cumin (page 277 from Not Your Mother’s Slow Cooker Cookbook)

Leave a Reply

