Thumbs Up!

This week, I tested a couple of new recipes. Of course, I can’t take credit for creating them, but I will be adding the basic recipe to my files and transforming them in new and different ways. My family gave both of these recipes two thumbs up. And nothing was left for Leftover Day. Oops!

On Monday, I made Pasta w/Canellini Beans and Kale . This was so scrumptious. The kids, especially, loved it! I have linked the basic recipe, but I am already dreaming of ways to transform it. I am thinking that I will make a Tex-Mex variety, using black beans, instead of canellini beans and salsa in place of the diced tomatoes. As well, I am thinking of adding in corn, bell peppers and cilantro. Instead of kale, I will add in fresh spinach. Topping the meal off with diced avocado and queso fresco.

This pasta dish was great on it’s own, and would be a hearty comfort meal on a cold winter’s day; however, it could easily be served cold in order to take on a picnic, or for a refreshing light, but filling meal in the summertime. Definitely, we will be adding it to our meal rotation.

Another recipe that received rave reviews this week, specifically from my kids, was the Turkey Quinoa Meatloaf. This was easy to prepare and fabulous to eat. Truth be told, there was nothing left! That’s how good it was and how much we all enjoyed it. I served it with Mashed Sweet Potatoes and Tuscan Broccoli. The kids devoured everything, which is always a good sign.

One idea I have for this meatloaf recipe is to make “meatloaf muffins” in the muffin tin. This would provide a portable food for picnics, or snacks during the day (my kids are ALWAYS hungry and I try to have healthful snacks on hand). Not to mention, the recipe would cook in much less time than a loaf (BTW, I cooked mine in a 10″ cast iron skillet last night.)

As was the case with the pasta dish, I am dreaming up ways to transform this basic recipe. Already, I have a Tex-Mex variety in mind, as well as an idea with more of an Italian flair, using fresh basil and red sauce. Definitely, this is a keeper, too. Next time, I need to make a double batch, so we can have leftovers.

This week, I will be cooking on Leftover Day because there aren’t any in the fridge! This is a good problem to have!


Leave a Reply

