Make Your Own Cake Mix: Butterscotch & Coconut Cookies

Remember the other day when I shared with you that I am not the best baker in the world? Well, I am not. Still, my family has fallen in love with the Cake Mix Cookies. Seriously, just about everyday, they have asked me to make a batch. If this keeps up, I will be living at the gym, instead of at my home.

Once again, the request came this morning, “Hey, Babe, will you make some of those cookies for tonight?” You see, my husband and a group of guys play poker every Tuesday evening. Since it’s his night to host, it’s my night to cook (which I love!)

I already knew he wanted Jambalaya, which was a snap for me to make. But, he also wanted cookies. Even with the easy Cake Mix Cookie recipe, I thought to myself, “I don’t have enough cake mixes to make that many cookies!” So, I began to search for a make-it-yourself recipe for cake mixes and I found several. With a tweak here and a few changes there, I was able to create a mix recipe that would work for the Cake Mix Cookies.

That was so easy, even for me! Now, I have at least five (5) dozen cookies cooling on my kitchen counters! (The gym is calling my name!) I made one batch using butterscotch chips and shredded coconut and one batch using oats, raisins, chocolate chips and coconut. And I do hope they are all gone before tomorrow! The last bag of cake mix is hiding in the back of my pantry, waiting a few weeks before it is used!

Cake Mix

  • 7-1/2 cups sifted flour
  • 1 Tbsp. salt
  • 4-1/2 cups sugar
  • 4 Tbsp. baking powder

In a large bowl, combine dry ingredients. Mix well.  Divide the cake mix into three equal portions (about 4 cups each). Store in glass jars (or plastic storage bags) in the pantry, or freezer. Each of the three bags will make one batch of Cake Mix Cookies.

When you are ready to make the cookies, here is what you will need to add:

Cake Mix COokies

  • 4 cups of the cake mix
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 2 eggs
  • Stir-ins of your choice: 1 cup of coconut, 1 cup of oats, 1 cup of chocolate/butterscotch/peanut butter chips, 1 cup of raisins 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Prepare cookie sheets. In a bowl, cream together butter, vanilla and eggs. Add cake mix. Finally, add the ‘stir-ins’ of your choice. (Add one cup of a single ingredient, or mix it up!)  Drop cookies onto tray, using a mini-ice cream scoop. Or, use a large one for enormous cookies!Bake for 10-12 minutes, or until just golden around the edges. Allow to cool (or not) and enjoy!

This make-it-yourself cake mix can easily be adapted to make a cake, too. To do so, make the following adjustments: 1 cup of milk, 1/2 cup of butter, and 3 eggs, along with 2 t of vanilla. This will be enough yellow cake mix batter for two 8″ round cakes or one 9×13 cake. Bake at 350 aprx. 25 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean.

You can also use this cake mix for Dump Cake. Delicious! 

 

 


Leave a Reply

