Fiesta Bean Dip

I grew up having beans of some fashion at least once a week. ( I mean, I did grow up in Louisiana, so Red Beans and Rice was a staple on the table.) Now that I am in charge of the menus, my family does, too. I have found a several ways to prepare various types of beans–Red Beans and Rice, Ham and Bean Soup, Bean Burritos, Chili with Beans, Hummus Dip, Garbanzo Bean and Couscous Salad, etc. And the good news is beans are good for you, providing healthy carbs and protein.

My family, including my kids, love Mexican food. And of course, with just about every entree at a Mexican restaurant, refried beans is one of the sides. Whenever we go, the kids specifically love dipping their chips into the refried beans. I like that they enjoy this combo, but realize that authentic, homemade refried beans might not be very “healthy”, considering most restaurants use lard in their recipes. So, I have been wanting to create a tasty, healthy refried bean dip that we can enjoy at home and feel good about eating it. I think I might have come up with one last night.

Ingredients

1 can of fat-free refried beans (Or, pre-cook pinto beans, freeze, and use in place of the can of refried beans. Mash up with a potato masher.)

1 can of Fiesta corn (Del-Monte has this, or you can add some chopped roasted bell peppers to a can of corn.)

1/2 cup of shredded sharp cheddar cheese

2 t of cumin

2 t of Cajun seasonings

Directions

In a bowl combine all ingredients. Cover and heat in microwave about 2-3 minutes. Taste and adjust seasonings, if needed. Serve with tortilla chips.

Last night, I served this dip with an organic blue corn chip, which was so good! This dip is also nice with carrot sticks (or other raw veggies), too, for a quick lunch.

Leave a Reply

