Jada’s Biscuit Recipe

As many of you know, we used to live in Denver. The entire time we were there, nothing I baked turned out correctly…even when I followed the recipe. (See, when I am cooking I usually don’t follow a recipe; however, when I bake, I do try to because I have had some really bad experiences by not doing so.) My kids loved the biscuits I made back then, but I didn’t. They were nothing like my MawMaw’s biscuits. She made the best biscuits ever!

The other night, we had breakfast for dinner. I read over several recipes, but went out on a limb and created my own. A little from this one. A little from that one. And voila! Biscuits that were so light, flakey and tasty. I will share that I used shortening, something I don’t often cook with, but honestly, biscuits are just not biscuits without it….at least to me.

Ingredients

2 cups of all-purpose flour

5 t. of baking powder

1/2 t. of baking soda

1 t. of salt (I used sea salt)

2 T. of chilled butter

1/4 cup of shortening

1 cup of soured milk (I add about 1 T or so of vinegar to regular milk. Let it stand for a few minutes.)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Grease a large cast iron skillet (10″ or 12″ in diameter). Place in oven to heat up. This is a crucial step in my opinion. Just like when I make cornbread. Don’t skip it!)

Mix all dry ingredients together. Cut in butter and shortening with pastry blender. Add milk and stir until combined. (My MawMaw ALWAYS made a ‘well’ in the center of the dry ingredients; then, added the milk.)

Sprinkle some flour on a flat surface. Place dough on floured surface. Press out, adding flour as necessary. Fold over itself a few times. (I think this is what created my flakey layers; however, don’t overdo this, or they will be tough and hard.) Roll out to be about an inch thick. Cut out biscuits. (I used the 1/2 measuring cup because it was available and within reach.) Place side by side in pan. At this point you may just have some ‘dough scraps.’ Simply shape them into biscuits and place into pan. Cook for 12-15 minutes. Personally, I like to just undercook mine, then place under the broiler to get them golden brown. This results in a soft inside and a crisp and lightly browned outside.

When these came out of the oven, I wanted to do a “happy dance.” I was that excited. They tasted so good. Even my kiddos said, “Momma, these are the best biscuits you have ever made!”

We served them with Egg Gravy (my Mama’s specialty), butter and Montana Huckleberry Jam. Oh. So. Good.

3 responses to “Jada’s Biscuit Recipe

  1. Ben and I DON’T live in a high altitude and have had a dickens of a time making decent biscuits. I’ll try your recipe and with God’s blessing, we’ll have our first batch of great biscuits. But don’t worry, if they don’t turn out, I’m sure it is our non-biscuit baking genes….

  2. Yvette Townsend

    Jada;

    What in the worl is egg gravy. By the way, Laurence is an EXCCELLENT bicuit maker. The kids request Daddy’s biscuits.

    I do so enjoy reading your blog. It makes me miss you and wish we could hang out like we did in college.

    Yvette

    • foodfunfamily

      Hey, my mom used to make egg gravy with a white roux. Much like sausage gravy, just with ‘scrambled eggs’. I miss you, too! Was thinking exactly what you wrote the other day, too. If y’all are ever in Seattle, must get together! (HUGS!)

Leave a Reply

