Simple. Easy. Good. Cake Mix Cookies.

A while back, I got a crazy deal on cake mixes, so I bought several boxes for my stockpile. Although I love to cook food, I am not a great dessert maker. Therefore, I rely on easy, tried-and-true recipes to serve my family and guests. Several years ago, a friend purchase a cookbook for me containing numerous recipes using cake mixes. Since then, I have branched out, creating my own cake mix recipes. This is one of the! I hope you enjoy!

Simple. Easy. Good. Cake Mix Cookies.

1 box cake mix (I used yellow)

1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips (Or you could try butterscotch or peanut butter chips)

1/ 2 cup of oatmeal

1/2 cup of shredded coconut

1 /2 cup of butter (or oil)

1 teaspoon of vanilla

1 egg

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350. In a large bowl, combine all the ingredients, blending well. (You may need to add a bit of water for the exact consistency. Sometimes I do, sometimes I don’t.) Form into balls of dough, whatever size you like. For this batch I made larger cookies. Bake at 350 for 8-10 minutes. Cool. Then, enjoy with a tall glass of milk!

4 responses to “Simple. Easy. Good. Cake Mix Cookies.

  1. This is yummy looking recipe! I’ll be sure to add this to favorites. Thanks for sharing it with me! I’ll really enjoy eating this. 😀

    • Do you have anything without coconut?
      Margie

      • foodfunfamily

        Margie, you can just leave it out. Last night I made these and added several ‘add-ins’ that wasn’t in this recipe. They should be fine without coconut. You might replace it with pecans, walnuts, etc, or just leave that out. Hope you enjoy!

  2. Pingback: Make Your Own Cake Mix: Butterscotch & Coconut Cookies « Food. Fun. Family.

Leave a Reply

