Retro-Wednesday: Tuna Fish Croquettes and Home Fries

Every so often, I crave food that I grew up eating (aka Momma’s meals). Wednesday was a crazy day for us. Honestly, all I wanted to do was say, “Cold cereal all around!” Yet, seeing that food and cooking are stress-relievers for me and my kitchen is my creative space, I began “stress-relieving” and “creating.” In a few minutes, we had a home cooked meal that reminded me of home.

Tuna Fish Croquettes with Home Fries and a Green Salad. Simple, quick and easy, this meal is to prepare. It’s not fancy, but is filled with memories of years past. When I close my eyes, I can smell the aroma of this meal. And it’s as if I am transported back in time to a simpler pace of life when there were fewer decisions to make.

Tuna Fish Croquettes

  • 2 cans of tuna, well-drained
  • 2 Tablespoon of dried onion flakes (or 1/2 cup of fresh onion, minced)
  • 1 Tablespoon of Dijon mustard
  • 1 teaspoon of pepper
  • 2 teaspoon of Cajun seasoning
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 Tablespoon of flour
  • 1/4 cup of Panko breadcrumbs

Directions:

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl. Heat a skillet with enough oil to cover bottom of  pan. Drop by spoonfuls into pan. Cook 2-3 minutes on both sides, or until golden brown. Drain on a plate covered with paper towels.

I like to serve these with a Caper Sauce, which is so easy to make. Mix 1/2 cup of mayo, 2 T of capers, 1T of Dijon mustard, 1 t of Tabasco Sauce (aka Louisiana hot sauce), and 1 T of ketchup. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Homefries

  • 4 medium to large potatoes, washed, peeled & roughly, diced/sliced
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • 2 teaspoons of Smoked Paprika
  • 1 teaspoon each of dried rosemary and parsley
  • Oil

Directions:

Prepare potatoes and onions. In a cast iron skillet (I prefer cast iron, so as to get the best caramelization), add enough oil to cover the pan. Heat it up. Add onions and season with salt and pepper. Saute until almost caramelized. Add potatoes and season with salt and pepper and dried herbs. Cook just until getting brown. Turn heat down to low. Cover with a lid to ‘smother’. Cook approximately 15 minutes.


Meals don’t have to be fancy. Ingredients don’t have to be hard to find. And preparation doesn’t have to be complex. This meal is so easy, but so yummy. Whenever my mom comes to visit, the kids request this multiple times. Hope you try it and enjoy. Do you have a retro-meal that you enjoy? Share it with me!

(I shared this post at The Grocery Cart Challenge.)

One response to “Retro-Wednesday: Tuna Fish Croquettes and Home Fries

  1. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday: Countdown Week 11/15-11/21 « Food. Fun. Family.

Leave a Reply

