Tilapia with Raspberry Sauce

Sundays are said to be a day of leisure.

Late sleeps.

Long lunches.

Lazy afternoons spent napping on the porch swing.

Although this Norman Rockwell-inspired picturesque day appeals to me on so many levels, this is just not how Sundays are played out in our home. As Pastors, Sundays are ‘workdays’ for us and we love our jobs! Yet, Sundays can be a bit chaotic.

While I am planner by nature, the best of plans sometimes fail (i.e. the crock pot meal is not ready, the oven’s automatic feature doesn’t work, or I just forget). Sometimes, when we come home from church, I am frantically throwing together a meal, totally winging it. Or more often than not, pulling out the cereal and milk, PB&J, or leftovers.

However, this past Sunday was a bit different. Nothing was planned, but I had an idea, as I walked in the door. I remembered, we had tilapia filets in the freezer; a spaghetti squash, needing to be used; and some asparagus from our co-op that was ready to prepare. I estimated a meal could be read in about 20 minutes. And, well, it could have been, had I defrosted the fish beforehand. Yet, even with this obstacle, we were sitting down to a home-cooked meal on a Sunday after church in about 30 minutes.

While the spaghetti squash was cooking in the microwave, I defrosted the tilapia in some warm water (maybe not what you are ‘supposed’ to do, but it worked!). As the squash was resting, I began preparing the fish. And as the fish was being kept warm, I cooked the asparagus and made the sauce.

I have to tell you, we all loved this fish. I was worried that the kids wouldn’t like it, so the PB&J was on standby. My worrying was in vain because they LOVED it, gave it two thumbs up, and asked me to make it again soon! YEA! Next time, instead of the Spaghetti Squash, I will make a Parmesan Risotto to add a contrasting flavor. Just too much ‘sweetness’ going on with the sauce and the squash. Still, it was good.

Tilapia with Raspberry Sauce

Directions:

Heat butter and olive oil in cast iron skillet.  Season both sides of fish with Cajun seasonings. Pan fry the tilapia for about 5 minutes on both sides. When cooked, set aside on a plate and cover with foil to keep hot. Turn up heat, add vinaigrette and a pat of butter to thicken, stir and reduce until thick. (If you have fresh raspberries, add a handful or two.) Plate fish and pour sauce over fish.

 

 

Spaghetti Squash

Cut squash in half, place in baking dish with a bit of water. Cover with plastic wrap and microwave for 10-14 minutes. Let rest for a few minutes. Scrape squash out; it will resemble spaghetti. Add salt, butter and a bit of brown sugar and/or honey. Adding a bit of blue cheese is nice, too.

Asparagus

Steam or saute, until done; adding a bit of the Raspberry Sauce, if you like.(Note: After I took the fish out of the pan, I added the asparagus and sauteed with a bit of salt/pepper. Then, kept warm with the fish, while I made the Raspberry Sauce.)


Leave a Reply

