Menu Plan Monday

Yesterday, I had a few things to pick up from the library in town. As my son and I were browsing, I came across an intriguing book by Ellen Brown, $3 Meals: Feed Your Family Delicious, Healthy Meals for Less than the Cost of a Gallon of Milk.

At first, I thought, “I bet this is full of processed, ‘convenience'” foods.” Items I would rather not feed my family. Yet, it is not. The author gets back to the basics, using real food as the basis for the recipes. I checked it out, began reading it as soon as I got home, and made one of the delicious recipes last night, White Bean Soup with Ham and Spinach, which we will eat tonight for dinner.

I look forward to trying many of the recipes. They are simple, nutritious and stated to only take 20 minutes of hands-on time (not including marinating, cooking time, but preparation time, etc.). Sounds great to me!

Here is my menu for this week. Sometimes, it changes last minute depending upon what comes up, but at least this is a guide for go-to meals.

Monday- White Bean Soup with Ham and Spinach

Tuesday- Homemade Pizza

Wednesday-Lentil Chili (I made a double batch last week and froze a portion)

Thursday-Crock Pot Roasted Chicken (Not sure how I will use this.)

Friday-Leftovers

Saturday-Finger Foods or Car Food. (We are going to a friend’s church for their Saturday night Easter Service, so will have to eat en route.)

Sunday-Breakfast for Dinner (pancakes, eggs, etc.)


3 responses to “Menu Plan Monday

  1. Dinner sounds awesome! I would like the receipe please! 🙂

  2. This book sounds really cool!

    I’m interested in your homemade pizza dough recipe!

  3. Wendy, did you want the soup recipe? I’ll get it to you. It was so good!

    Sarah, the pizza recipe, I can’t claim, but will get you the link.

Leave a Reply

