Zuppa Toscana

We had a change of (menu) plans this week. Some kale that I had purchased a few days ago needed to be used. Since I didn’t get around to using it this weekend, tonight was the night.

Ever since I was in college, I have enjoyed going to the Olive Garden. They have “average” pasta dishes, but the soup and salad is delicious to me. Without question, my favorite soup is the Zuppa Toscana. Love this soup. Several years ago, a friend made this for me and it was fabulous. Today, I went scouring the internet for a comparable recipe. As usual, I combined this one and that one to create my own.

This was a snap to make–quick and easy. Within 15 minutes, it was all done and simmering on the stove (minus the kale and half n’ half), when my music students arrived for lessons. After I finished teaching for the evening, I added the shredded kale and half n’ half. It hit the spot and tasted, oh so, good!

Zuppa Toscana

  • 1 lb of  Italian sausage, crumbled
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 4 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 4 medium sized potatoes, cubed
  • 4-5 cans of chicken broth  (or equivalent of homemade broth)
  • 4 cups of kale, washed, dried and shredded
  • 1 cup of half ‘n half or heavy cream

Directions:
In a stockpot, cook sausage until brown. Add onion and garlic.  Add potatoes and a dash of salt. Add chicken stock/broth and let this come to a boil. Cook until potatoes are tender. Add kale and half ‘n half or cream; simmer for about four minutes.

The only thing missing tonight was a loaf of crusty bread. After teaching tonight, I was a wee bit too tired to make crusty bread, and hadn’t planned on having this meal, so didn’t have it on hand. Next time, though. There will be a next time!

4 responses to “Zuppa Toscana

  1. Do you make your own crusty bread? If so, you know you have to share the recipe! 🙂 I’m headed to Walmart today to get stuff to make the sloppy lentils and Zuppa Tuscano! Mmmmm…sounds so good!

  2. mmmm this sounds so good! I love their soup 🙂

    ~ Emily N.

  3. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday: November 29-December 5 « Food. Fun. Family.

  4. You can use rudabagas instead of potatoes and coconut milk instead of cream. It’s SO good!!!

Leave a Reply

