What’s a Beet To Do?

In one of our baskets of produce from Bountiful Baskets we received beets. Other than pickled beets, which I don’t really care for, I have never eaten the vegetable. I had no idea what to do with them. So, today, since I was staying home from church with a very sick little girl, I began searching for recipes.

You will never believe what I found: A recipe for Chocolate Beet Brownies! As I looked over the recipe, it really seemed a lot like adding zucchini to a sweet bread. The beets are finely grated and added to the brownie batter.

After my son got home from church, we began the process of making this recipe. I had to use a few substitutions, since I didn’t have plain yogurt, a typical staple in my pantry/fridge. Instead, I used 4 ounces of sour cream and about 2 ounces of soured milk (regular milk with a bit of vinegar). This may/may not have changed the texture of the original recipe.

The brownies turned out nicely. While the recipe calls for a fair amount of cocoa powder, next time I will add chocolate chips, too. They turned out very moist with a texture more like a cake brownie, not a chewy brownie. I will try this recipe again. Next time I will add a light frosting on top, too.

Here is the link to the Chocolate Beet Brownies.

I have a few more beets to use. I think I will dice them up, along with carrots and onions, salt and pepper and drizzle with olive oil, and roast in the oven.

3 responses to “What’s a Beet To Do?

  1. We grow Beetroot in our garden each year and last year I attempted a Beetroot Chocolate Cake. It tasted great but was a little too dry and heavy. I will have another go again this year when they have grown!

    The Brownies sound great though and I might try those.

  2. Hi! I saw this post after clicking over from MPM on OrgJunkie’s site. We got beets from our CSA and I am a newbie beet eater! I love to roast them (whole), peel them after roasting and serve with just a little butter and salt and pepper. They are an entirely different experience than out of the can! I also used my food processor to make Mark Bittman’s raw beet salad, which I was not clear I was going to enjoy at all but I loved it. Good for you for experimenting with new foods and welcome to MPM!

  3. While in Peru, I ate a lot of beets (served with chicken and rice). Something similar to this:
    http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Red-Salad/Detail.aspx

Leave a Reply

