Valentine’s Day…..aka I LOVE YOU DAY!

In our home, Valentine’s Day is “I Love You Day!”


Until I met my husband, Valentine’s Day wasn’t really special to me. Our first Valentine’s Day, he totally surprised me. Recently, I had moved from Louisiana to Southern California to begin a new job. That Friday morning, I arrived at work and got the surprise of my life.

Apparently everyone in the office was in on his surprise….except me. The night before, he had flown from Seattle to Los Angeles. I walked into the office and went about my normal routine. To the kitchen I went for my morning coffee, only to come back and find him sitting right there. I was totally shocked. I turned and walked away. Not a good move, especially since we had only been dating about a six weeks. Thankfully, he came after me and gave me a great big hug.

While my husband is still thoughtful and caring (everyday, not just on holidays), that remains one of the most memorable days of my life. I have never felt so loved, so cherished, so special.

After having children, my husband and I discussed that we wanted them to know how special they are and always will be to us. After they got to an age where they ate with us with real dishes and real food, we began the tradition of celebrating Valentine’s Day together, as a family. We cook a nice meal, serve it on our china dishes,  even use the silver and crystal. They think it is so cool, so do I!

This year we are changing our tradition a bit and including some friends in our celebration. The more the merrier! These are friends that we have connected with since moving back to Washington State. It has been fun to get to know their families. Every so often, we all make a point to get together for a family dinner. However, our calendars were being crazy and finding a time that worked for us all was difficult. So, one of the moms threw out Valentine’s Day as a possibility. Turns out, it worked for all of us. It was our time to host and I was so excited!

On Sunday evening, we will enjoy a yummy meal together. I am making several dishes from The Pioneer Woman. My contribution to the menu consists of Grilled Steaks with Onion and Bleu Cheese Sauce, Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes, and Sweet Roasted Rosemary Acorn Squash Wedges. (Check out my Meal Plan Monday for recipe links.) Others are bringing desserts and salads. Being the foodie that I am, I, absolutely, can not wait for Sunday evening!

How do you celebrate Valentine’s Day? Any special traditions or recipes?

Check out Life as Mom to see how others are celebrating Valentine’s Day!

4 responses to “Valentine’s Day…..aka I LOVE YOU DAY!

  1. Wow that was like reading about my own family! We do the exact thing on Valentines day! (BTW I love the Pioneer Woman!). We are having french dip and we put valentines on each child’s plate. We also do a special heart-shaped breakfast but since tomorrow is Sunday, this year we’re having an alternative due to time constraints. 🙂

    Have a fun day!

  2. My mom always made Valentine’s Day special as a kid, and we celebrated it as a family, giving each other home-made valentines at dinner time. The best part of the day came after dinner when we had cream puffs. We’d fill them with either chocolate cream, vanilla cream or whipped cream. Yummy ! We’ve continued this tradition for our family as well and have a fancy dinner together additionally. Such fun, and believe it or not, cream puffs are sooo easy to make!

    Mark was reminding us today of how the “holiday” started as commemorating St. Valentine, and unfortunately I didn’t know his storyor that he was a Christian martyr. I think that we’re going to see if we can watch something on you tube about it today and see if there’s a way to remember the true meaning of the day in the future as well somehow.

  3. We also include our children on this special day as well. We have had a sweet day. I think they feel loved and special!

  4. Pingback: Dinner: Plan B « Food. Fun. Family.

Leave a Reply

