Freezer Cooking Week (sort of)

MoneySavingMom had a “Freezer Cooking Day” in her home. I couldn’t commit to just one day; however, I am having a “Freezer Cooking Week.”

For my freezer, I always keep pre-cooked ground beef. Some bags are flavored with Italian seasonings, others with Mexican seasonings and a few with all-purpose seasonings. On any given night, in less than 30 minutes, I can have tacos or other Mexican fare, spaghetti, pizza, etc. This makes cooking meals so much easier.

For instance, yesterday, a friend was over helping my husband with a renovation project. It was getting really close to lunch time. I thought, “What in the world am I going to feed two hungry guys?”  Then, SNAP! I remembered that I had the ground beef and could easily make Sloppy Joes. Retro-cuisine, but a hearty meal, easy for me to whip up. As well, it was a stick-to-your-ribs kind of meal that worked for the guys.

As well, I always purchase one or two extra turkeys during the holidays. Even if we are not spending the holidays at home, I roast one, de-bone it and package in quart-sized freezer bags for quick dinners, such as Turkey Gumbo or Turkey Tetrazinni. (Don’t forget to make stock with the turkey bones. Delish. Quick and easy in the crock pot, too!)

We like Southern Comfort Food and Cajun Cuisine around our house, too. For this reason, I purchase a bone-in ham, bake it and pre-package into meal-sized portions. I can make any number of creations with this from Jambalaya to Red Beans and Rice to a big ole pot of slow-cooked beans or soup, ham bone included. Serve this with hot, buttered cornbread. Oh. my. word. Luscious!

I have found that it is easy to pre-cook beans for meals, too.  This, along with the pre-cooked ground beef (or ground turkey), makes throwing a big pot of chili together a cinch. As well, you can use the beans to make refried beans, which are amazing in burritos, or enchiladas.

Whenever I make a large batch of soup, either in my crockpot or on the stove, I always make sure to have enough to freeze for meals in the future. This will happen again this week, as I make Taco Soup. Sometimes I package the soups in quart-sized bags for one or two people, other times in gallon-sized bags for more. Also, remember to freeze them flat. This takes up less space in your freezer.

This week I will be making these items to use for future meals:

Oven Roasted Tomatoes

Spaghetti/Pizza Sauce (using the Oven Roasted Tomatoes)

Taco Soup

Pancakes

Waffles

Beans (a couple of varieties)

Gumbo

Jambalaya

Brown Rice

Have you attempted freezer meals? What meals have you created to freeze?

Leave a Reply

